We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but in the heart of Temple Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oliver St. John Gogarty's Pub

Oliver St. John Gogarty's Pub
58 / 59 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
353 1 6711 822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 613 things to do in Dublin
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Pricey but in the heart of Temple Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great atmosphere and Irish music but we was warned that all bars in temple bar area do charge a lot for drinks but I would return as food looked lovely even though we only had drinks.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    162
    43
    25
    43
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Irish music and warm atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

There is a band every evening playing traditional Irish music. Depending on the days, you might not always have the same musicians/instruments. Even though there is a lot of tourists in this pub, the atmosphere stays very warm and the music appreciated by the visitors. Some might even start dancing late in the night. The Oliver St John Gogarty's Pub is a good place to be if you are in Temple Bar. The CDs sold are good and will remind you the pub.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Called here for a drink today, ordered 2 cokes and a rock shandy, waited about 15 mins only for the lady to return with two cans of coke and a beer shandy. We ordered a rock shandy.she was a foreign waitress and told me that here in Ireland a rock shandy is a beer, funny as I'm Irish and she was not , I had to google club rock shandy to show her such a drink existed and she returned with a club orange, also too expensive , almost ten euros for 2 cans of coke and one can of orange. I would expect a pub and it's staff to have a bit of knowledge in the drinks department.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“An Irish Night Out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were dropped here by the taxi driver. It was busy. The music was playing. We opted for the bar rather than the upstairs restaurant. The atmosphere was buzzing. The drinks are Dublin prices of course but the food, whilst limited, offered some excellent value. We had the rib-eye which arrived in huge quantity but was mouth wateringly tender and delicious.

A change of band produced a different style of music promoting some dancing to add to the atmosphere. The lighting was varied from behind the bar to try to catch the mood of the moment.

For me though the evening was marred by the ridiculous attempts by the band to increase the amplification to distortion levels as the place filled up and people understandably wanted to talk to each other. I wanted to shout 'louder isn't better' but I wouldn't have been heard!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great pub atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Great Irish Craic to be had here! Great traditional light atmosphere with great bands playing and friendly relaxed atmosphere that customers were up dancing and having a grand time! We didn't eat here but food looked good with waitress service and kids welcomed.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver St. John Gogarty's Pub also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Oliver St. John Gogarty's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oliver St. John Gogarty's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.