We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst stay ever...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Adelphi Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Adelphi Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adelphi Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   68 Lower Gardiner St, Dublin 1, Ireland (North City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 160 Dublin B&B and Inns
Kells, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worst stay ever...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have stayed at various locations around the centre of Dublin, various prices, but this one has to be the worst we have stayed at. On arrival we met with quite surly management, who made us feel quite unwelcome before we even settled into the room.
The rooms are very dated, shabby, dirty and reeks of DIY...
The shared bathroom is quite frankly the bathroom from hell - the shower was cold and very badly installed (again bad DIY had occurred here), mould, dirt and general nastiness, cleaning products were clearly not used in this establishment.
The corridor was packed with old rubbish, i.e. hoovers, old dustbins, doors from cupboards, lamps and three old wardrobes.
Met the manager for a second time, again surly and short with us.
We were advised from a fellow resident NOT to have the breakfast so we could safely assume, judging the standard of the cleaning in the bathroom, that the kitchen may have not been up to scratch.
Would not advise you stay here, great location though, that is the one point it has going for it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    44
    38
    36
    31
See reviews for
17
56
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Friendly 24 hr staff. The room was clean but a little run down. Our room had the smallest bathroom ever; barely room to turn around. Breakfast was not impressive. The location was good in that it seemed quite central.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

It was the worst value for money in terms of hotels - +160 euros/night for a shabby old room. The pictures are a misrepresentation of the actual rooms in the hotel. There is nothing modern about the rooms. The bed and the furniture is rather old and in bad shape. At check out, they even tried to charge me an additional 3% for paying with a credit card, which has not been stated at my booking details. Overall it was a horrible experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel was included in a hen party package so I wasn't sure what to expect. However, it was in a great location, near to a shopping centre, a short walk to a pub and within walking distance of Temple Bar. Staff would willingly ring us a taxi which cost about 8 euros if we didn't fancy the walk.
The bed and shower room were modern and comfortable with hand soap and shower gel/shampoo available. There was no TV in my room although the other three rooms that my party occupied all had TV's. There are no tea and coffee facilities in any room, but staff are available 24 hours a day and will make you a pot of tea at no cost.
The breakfast was lovely with unlimited orange juice and coffee and cooked or continental option.
There is also a spacious reception and staff allowed us to keep our cases there all day after check out which was a bonus as we had a late flight.
This hotel might not be for everyone, there is considerable noise from the busy road and nearby train line. However, for young couples or parties who require a convenient location for Dublin City Centre it is ideal.

Room Tip: Ask or a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I visited the place with friends and what were saw on their website was nothing compared with what's on offer. We had requested two rooms.
1. Management/ receptionist was rude.
2. There's old furniture and cleaning material in the passages.
3. The rooms lack taste. The curtains rails are falling off, the face towels are dirty. The beds look like they were done by a 3 year old. There's spiderwebs in the ceiling. Cleanliness is definetely not a priority.
4. On return from the city centre on our second day, the shower was not cleaned.
5. Breakfast was ok.
We will definetely not be returning to this place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

very good hotel , although we had to ask for another room as we didnt get a tv or even a kettle . when we got changed room , the room wasnt even nice and the tv was very old with only 4 channels ....

next time we would like to see a better tv with satelite
and a kettle for each rooom

overall we are very pleased keep it up

ps brekfast very good

Room Tip: stick with a room with no tv
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Recently refurbished B&B on Lower Gardiner Street in Dublin city centre, less than 5 mins from O'Connell Street and The Spire.
Room was funkily decorated, a little noisy though, facing the street but the windows are double-glazed. High ceilings as you'd expect from a Georgian conversion. Recently redecorated room, with real wooden floor and tasteful painting. TV is old style CRT but big and has Irish and British channels. Centrally heated, and comfy. No tea or coffee facilities in room. Hairdryer available from reception. Free wifi throughout B&B including in rooms, which was fast and reliable. Beds were comfortable with modern big headboards.

Bathroom is tiny, and shower head is fixed and installed by a midget, if you're 6' you need to stoop but the power shower makes up for it.There are two dispensers of soap/shampoo.

Everything was clean, and the B&B has some nouveau style to it. Didn't try breakfast, starts late at 8.30am.

Staff were a mix of quiet and efficient and bubbly and helpful.

Would recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at front overlook busy Gardiner Street. Not an issue for me, but traffic can be a pain for som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adelphi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Guesthouse

Address: 68 Lower Gardiner St, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Guesthouse 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Adelphi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelphi Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.