We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but not for the light sleeper” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dublin Citi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dublin Citi Hotel to your Saves list
Dublin Citi Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46-49 Dame Street | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Arch Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Location but not for the light sleeper”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

The hotel is ideal if your in Dublin to enjoy not only the sights but also the nightlife. The Citi Hotel is located on Dame street and is in very easy walking distance for all the shop, tours and sights of Dublin. It is also located on the edge of the Temple bar area, so if your in the city to enjoy the nightlife then this is the hotel for you. As other reviews have mentioned it does have a bar and nightclub below the hotel rooms, but if your already enjoying the nightlife till the early hours than this won't bother you. My recommendation is that if you retire to bed early at night then DON'T CHOOSE THIS HOTEL. The music is loud enough to keep you awake till the early hours. Overall the hotel is good with a good breakfast in the morning and the hotel staff very friendly. The best thing about the hotel is definitely the location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Loud music till about 2am
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We apologise for the inconvenience cause. Our maintenance and housekeeping staff are very committed in keeping the rooms and the premises clean and tidy at all times.

As we are situated on a busy city centre road, there can be traffic noise which is why we provide earplugs for your convenience.

We will take your review under serious consideration and make sure no such inconvenience is caused to any of our guests.

We greatly appreciate your feedback!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    258
    122
    44
    45
See reviews for
40
179
61
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

Great lcation,very clean , friendly receptionist, but if you want sleep this is not the hotel for you. when I first arrived there I thought the most of my worries would be the traffic, but how wrong was I , I went and toured the area for a few hours and feeling nicely relaxed looked forward to going back to my hotel, ummmm maybe not! got to the corner of the street where the hotel was and there it was the very loud thudding of music, everywhere else quiet but here. Thought ok maybe quieter inside, WRONG the walls and floors were shaking it was that loud, went and cmplained with very littlle response and came away with, a set of earplugs. Apparently this is there solution to anyone who complains about the noise!!!! not a good place to go if you want to relax and sleep as this went on until 2.30 am and then for at least an hour later everyone congregated outside to have a chatter and a fight. 4am eventually able to get to sleep.
unless your eighteen and wanting to party I wouldnt bother!!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We appreciate your patience and time for the review of our hotel. Being located amidst the busy streets and central locale of Dublin, Dublinciti Hotel has a lot of advantages coupled with some disadvantageous. The weekends tend to be noisy due to the crowd on the streets as well in the night club attached to our hotel. The weekdays are much calmer. Being an old and historic hotel, we have done our best to equip the rooms with all the facilities. Each floor has its own WLAN router for speed and connectivity. Our kitchens provide one of the best 'Full Irish Breakfasts' along with a new menu with alternatives for breakfast. We at Dublinciti Hotel are trying our best to better the amenities in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Yorks
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

This is not a hotel, a hotel would allow you to sleep and this is not possible at this establishment. This is a night club open until 2-30 with after hours taxi queuing and fighting, allowing you to enjoy the whole experience until 4-30am. There are a number of rooms sold as bed and breakfast which is all they are. A bed, not to sleep in as that’s not possible, and a breakfast which is actually very good. The manager was not available to answer our problems but at least the bar manager came to reception to point out that this is a top night venue and they do provide ear plugs free to guests silly enough to go to the Citi hotel thinking it is a hotel. He claimed noise problems were mentioned on their web site? Which was strange as when I asked him to show us, the pc no longer worked? Well I have checked and no mention of noise. To be fair both receptionists were very friendly and as helpful as Hotel policy allowed, however it is obvious that a noisy nightclub bar makes the money and that comes first.

So as a summary if you want no sleep and a great location this is for you. If you want to enjoy Dublin and a nights sleep so you can be ready to enjoy the next day, don’t go near this place. Should add don’t drink the water! It is really bad and has been mentioned before!!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — No sleep.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We appreciate your patience and time for the review of our hotel. Being located amidst the busy streets and central locale of Dublin, Dublinciti Hotel has a lot of advantages coupled with some disadvantageous. The weekends tend to be noisy due to the crowd on the streets as well in the night club attached to our hotel. The weekdays are much calmer. Being an old and historic hotel, we have done our best to equip the rooms with all the facilities. Each floor has its own WLAN router for speed and connectivity. Our kitchens provide one of the best 'Full Irish Breakfasts' along with a new menu with alternatives for breakfast. We at Dublinciti Hotel are trying our best to better the amenities in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral.UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

Stayed overnight 5th June 2007. Mature couple on cheapy Ryanair trip. Booked hotel online, 99euros B&B (walk in off street price was 89 euros-special deal after Irish bank holiday).Check in after 2pm, check out by 11am. Friendly (French lady) reception. Few Irish staff about, seemed to be mainly Polish. Room 12ft by 12ft with ensuite shower/washroom. We were on 3rd floor (lift). Room lighting: 2 wall uplighters, ceiling lamp, 2 bedside lamps. Two large wall mirrors, double wardrobe, 2 bedside cabinets, dressing table, TV, telephone, tea&coffee supplied, kettle, hair dryer, ironing board and iron. Hotel backs onto Temple Bar area. Sash windows, not double glazed. We opened them due to unusual heatwave. No aircon. Bit noisy with late revellers and traffic till the early hours. Light sleepers might consider earplugs (Lots of Guinness works too). Shower door entry a squeeze at only twelve inches. Lots of towels supplied. Magnetic door keycard failed, replaced no problem. Advised to keep the card away from credit cards as the mag stripes may affect them(?). Breakfast served 7.30 to 10.30am at mezzanine area. As much as you want tea, coffee,orange juice, cereal, jam, honey. Three toast, two sausage, two rashers bacon, egg, beans, tomato, mushrooms. Price includes entry to adjacent night club. Very enjoyable stay. Friendly, clean and comfortable and right in the centre of the action. Short wobble from Temple Bar. Handy for Airlink bus stop and walking to all sites of interest. We'll go again (if Ryanair penny trips are repeated).

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

The Dublin Citi Hotel has some idiocyncracies, but I'd still recommend it as a great place to flop for fun in Temple Bar. Not much in our story contradicts what others have already written - maybe just a few more details.

Though it's right on a major street, it took us a little bit of doing to find the Dublin Citi Hotel. If you take the bus in from the airport to O'Connell Street, it's about a mile walk away. You just keep going down O'Connell toward the Liffey, cross the bridge, go another 2 blocks, then veer right with traffic onto Dame Street, then on Dame for another 3 blocks. It's at the corner of Dame Street and Upper Fownes St. in a grey building. The signage is black with gold letters.

You can't beat the location for fun in the city. Temple Bar, Grafton St., Trinity College, Dublin Castle - it's all in walking distance. The 2 sightseeing bus lines go right past the hotel as well.

The lobby was small - you'd meet your friends in the bar instead. The elevator dropped an inch or two when you got on, but no real problems.

Our room was clean and big enough for the two of us. Furniture isn't plentiful but the in-room coffee & tea service was very handy - especially on those days it was stocked with regular & decaf coffee packets. The bathroom was mostly clean and I fixed a small problem with the toilet myself rather than testing the staff at a small hotel like this.

We've almost never had a problem with noise at a hotel. However, our room on the 3rd floor was so noisy at night that we should have had earplugs. Every night when the bars close at 3am, the noise on Dame Street woke us up - and sometimes earlier as well. One night the hotel vibrated from the dance club in the basement. Another night at bar time someone marched up Dame Street with a trumpet knowing only how to play the first line of "When Irish Eyes Are Smiling," which was met with enthusiastic cheers from all the drunks making their way from Temple Bar. So some noise was due to the bar and dance club downstairs, but a lot of it was due to the location. Our windows were only single pane but when they weren't shut, the noise was worse. We kept them closed so as not to let in the pidgeons that liked to visit.

The breakfasts were the exact same big traditional Irish hotel breakfast plate every day. On the side were yogurts, coffee & tea and a poor selection of fruit.

Overall, this hotel was more of a 3 1/2 than a 3. Our first choice was the Eliza Lodge and we were left wondering if we might have done better there.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Noise, noise, noise
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We appreciate your patience and time for the review of our hotel. Being located amidst the busy streets and central locale of Dublin, Dublinciti Hotel has a lot of advantages coupled with some disadvantageous. The weekends tend to be noisy due to the crowd on the streets as well in the night club attached to our hotel. The weekdays are much calmer. Being an old and historic hotel, we have done our best to equip the rooms with all the facilities. Each floor has its own WLAN router for speed and connectivity. Our kitchens provide one of the best 'Full Irish Breakfasts' along with a new menu with alternatives for breakfast. We at Dublinciti Hotel are trying our best to better the amenities in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

We have just returned from a long weekend stay in Dublin Citi Hotel. Nice little place which is central to all the tourist attractions. Just round the corner from Temple Bar too for those who like a drink or two (or more). The room was tidy, had all the amenities we needed and a decent size bathroom. Granted, some of the furniture were a bit dated and probably could do with some upgrading but overall I can say it's good value for money £60 per night with breakfast included for 2. However, due to proximity from Temple Bar, it's not the place to go if you want absolute peace and quiet at night (it didn't bother us as we were on the third/highest floor). Staff were friendly and helpful which is always a plus. I would definitely recommend and would stay there again if we ever go back to Dublin for a visit.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

We stayed in the dublin citi hotel for one night, its the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. The room was very small and grotty. The noise was terrible, from the nightclub and bar.Constant banging of doors until after 3 in the morning. No sampoo in the room. bath was filthy and the plug hole was full of hair. pillows were rock hard. stairwell grotty carpets have seen better days, some stains on the walls. Didnt stick around to eat there. hotel staff not extremely helpful. it didnt come cheap. I will not be recommending this hotel to any of my friends or family. It was pretty much the twin of faulty towers.

  • Liked — I didnt like anything, only stayed there as it was off the streets.
  • Disliked — everything, i would class it as somewhere to close the door.
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We appreciate your patience and time for the review of our hotel. Being located amidst the busy streets and central locale of Dublin, Dublinciti Hotel has a lot of advantages coupled with some disadvantageous. The weekends tend to be noisy due to the crowd on the streets as well in the night club attached to our hotel. The weekdays are much calmer. Being an old and historic hotel, we have done our best to equip the rooms with all the facilities. Each floor has its own WLAN router for speed and connectivity. Our kitchens provide one of the best 'Full Irish Breakfasts' along with a new menu with alternatives for breakfast. We at Dublinciti Hotel are trying our best to better the amenities in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dublin Citi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Citi Hotel

Address: 46-49 Dame Street | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Arch Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dublin Citi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in a 19th-century building in Dublin’s Temple Bar district. It offers a 24-hour reception, comfortable rooms with free Wi-Fi, an award-winning 4-floor bar and a nightclub.Guests can explore Dublin Castle and Trinity College, both are just a 5-minute walk away. The hotel is a 10-minute walk from Henry and Grafton Street, Dublin’s premier shopping areas.Rooms at The Dublin Citi Hotel of Temple Bar have a warm or fresh décor. They feature a TV, ironing equipment and tea/coffee-making facilities. They include bathrooms with baths, showers and hairdryers.Dublin Citi Hotel has a partnership with Crunch Fitness in Temple Bar, which allows guests to enjoy complimentary access to the premises (GYM, POOL, SAUNA...) during their stay.The vibrant Trinity Bar has 3 bars, an all day bar menu and 11 screens showing live sporting events. It has regular comedy and music nights. The modern Havana Club is open until late on Friday and Saturday nights and has an LCD floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Dublin Citi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Arch Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dublin Citi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.