We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location shame about hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dublin Citi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dublin Citi Hotel to your Saves list
Dublin Citi Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46-49 Dame Street | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Arch Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
donegal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location shame about hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

I booked this hotel for 2 nights online paid a booking fee and deposit and was i in for a shock. When i arrived on friday evening after a 4 hour bus journey i went into reception to check in. i was asked straight away for my credit card details which i do not have so i was told i had to pay in cash straight away. then i was asked for photo id lucky i carry my drivers licence in my wallet I asked the girl what would happen if i had not got photo id her replay was then your booking would be cancelled.
After she had photocpoied my licence every side (which was strange as to what concern of the hotel was it of what i can drive) i got my room key and went to the double room i had booked. Double room was a joke it had 2 single beds pushed together and you could hardly walk either side. to watch tv you would need to stand on the bed as the 14 inch tv was at the celing. The room was newly painted and was affecting my asthma and it was over warm. If you went out for the night when you returned you were let in and asked for your room number before you could go up.
The noise from the street was ok but the noise from the other rooms was noyt ok at all noisy lovemaking was not what i wanted to hear due to paper thin walls.
I will never stay in this dump again
i know next time to wait and book my usual hotel the Adams Trinity accross the street.
At least there you walk in they hand you your key and you pay when you are leaving and at least the staff can be friendly.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We appreciate your patience and time for the review of our hotel. Being located amidst the busy streets and central locale of Dublin, Dublinciti Hotel has a lot of advantages coupled with some disadvantageous. The weekends tend to be noisy due to the crowd on the streets as well in the night club attached to our hotel. The weekdays are much calmer. Being an old and historic hotel, we have done our best to equip the rooms with all the facilities. Each floor has its own WLAN router for speed and connectivity. Our kitchens provide one of the best 'Full Irish Breakfasts' along with a new menu with alternatives for breakfast. We at Dublinciti Hotel are trying our best to better the amenities in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    258
    122
    44
    45
See reviews for
40
179
61
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
L'Estartit, Spain
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in January. The reception was effecient and wellcoming. Our room,104, was fine. it was a little on the small side but had all the necessary bits and pieces. The room was clean and warm. The resaurant was in the bar downstairs and was fine. The only complaint was the chairs were very high around tall tables and maybe not very easy to eat at. It was a little noisy at night but it is in the city center . Breakfast was great. The girl on reception was really helpful. Overall it was a fine hotel in a great setting.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

i have stayed in loads of places in Dublin but the Dublin Citi Hotel offers the best value for money for all Dublin Hotels! The food was excellent, perfect actually. The staff were very helpful, the hotel was spotless. The bar was great. All over a great experience, i would feel safe telling anyone about this hotel in Dublin as a gem. Its located beside Temple Bar and walking distance from everywhere in the city centre. I wish the management would let the other Hotels in Dublin know how a hotel should be run.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

The location of hotel is perfect with its affordable prices. Recommended!

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

I'm all for cheap and cheerful but this hotel was cheap and nasty! The decor was terrible, the whole interior was shabby and dated and the smell in the hotel was that of damp. We had to keep the window in our room open when we were out to try and get rid or the smell but it was impossible. I could not wait to get out of the hotel the next day and I certainly will not be staying there or recommending it to anyone. We were also told to park in Fleet Street Car Park and I was told it would only cost 9Euro for the night but when we went to pay for our parking it was 27.60Euro (Overnight parking is from 6pm to 9am, we checked in at 2pm). All in all we will not be back!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We appreciate your patience and time for the review of our hotel. Being located amidst the busy streets and central locale of Dublin, Dublinciti Hotel has a lot of advantages coupled with some disadvantageous. The weekends tend to be noisy due to the crowd on the streets as well in the night club attached to our hotel. The weekdays are much calmer. Being an old and historic hotel, we have done our best to equip the rooms with all the facilities. Each floor has its own WLAN router for speed and connectivity. Our kitchens provide one of the best 'Full Irish Breakfasts' along with a new menu with alternatives for breakfast. We at Dublinciti Hotel are trying our best to better the amenities in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

We had a fine time in this hotel. It was clean, reasonable, and in a good location. The staff was fairly helpful but I do think that it helped that we were not there on a noisy weekend. It was a cute little place to stay for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMAR_DC, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We at Dublin Citi hotel are committed in providing the best services to all our guests. The housekeeping and maintenance staff work round the clock to make sure all the rooms are tidy.

We deeply appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

My Wife and i stayed in this hotel for 1 night this yearwe went to dublin for a nights break ,and were completely anoyed by the place

when we arrived we asked for a 3rd floor room which we got ,the room was filthy ,cracked tiles in bathroom,had to go to reception to ask to move and were told no other rooms available .the TV remote didnt have batteries,there were cups for tea and coffee ,(no coffee in room ) and no spoons ,this hotel needs updating ,, Repair the windows and the noise is gone ( like in the green isle hotel where they have screens blocking the noise from the main road )

we went out to a show that evening and when we came back we went to our room ,there is a nightclub on the bottom floor you could hear the music on the 3rd floor ,the windows of this hotel are old and very drafty ,we spent the rest of the night awake in our room ,listening to fights on the street ,and people coming and leaving bars and night clubs ,, worst of all we kept hearing the sirens of police and Ambulance all night ,, eventually around 4am we got to sleep

bottom line ,,, if your out for a night of drinking and clubbing then its great as you prob will be in the clubs till close and at that stage you prob will fall asleep on a bed of nails ,,
if you want a night out to a show and come back to get a nights sleep ,,, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE dont stay here 4am sleep time doesnt appeal to me or my wife ,dont get me wrong i like to party as good as the next person but if i want to go to my room no matter waht time (we arrived back at 1am ) i expect that i can sleep ,in this hotel you will not

we mailed the hotel once we got home as we left about 7am that morning there was nobody at reception ,, todate we have recieved nothing from them not even a mail saying sorry ,,

Also no parking Available at this Hotel you must pay for it in a public underground Parking lot

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMAR_DC, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. Being located at the centre of the city and with the heavy partying culture the nose is inevitable, we try our best to reduce the noise as much as possible and the guests are given an option to choose a quieter room upon availability.

We have a 24 hour maintenance and housekeeping staff to make sure all the rooms have sufficient supplies and also provide extra supplies is requested.

We appreciate your feedback and are continuously working in better Dublin Citi Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dublin Citi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Citi Hotel

Address: 46-49 Dame Street | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Arch Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dublin Citi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in a 19th-century building in Dublin’s Temple Bar district. It offers a 24-hour reception, comfortable rooms with free Wi-Fi, an award-winning 4-floor bar and a nightclub.Guests can explore Dublin Castle and Trinity College, both are just a 5-minute walk away. The hotel is a 10-minute walk from Henry and Grafton Street, Dublin’s premier shopping areas.Rooms at The Dublin Citi Hotel of Temple Bar have a warm or fresh décor. They feature a TV, ironing equipment and tea/coffee-making facilities. They include bathrooms with baths, showers and hairdryers.Dublin Citi Hotel has a partnership with Crunch Fitness in Temple Bar, which allows guests to enjoy complimentary access to the premises (GYM, POOL, SAUNA...) during their stay.The vibrant Trinity Bar has 3 bars, an all day bar menu and 11 screens showing live sporting events. It has regular comedy and music nights. The modern Havana Club is open until late on Friday and Saturday nights and has an LCD floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Dublin Citi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Arch Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dublin Citi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.