We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel for just me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dublin Citi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dublin Citi Hotel to your Saves list
Dublin Citi Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46-49 Dame Street | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Arch Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
San Diego, CA
1 review
“Adequate hotel for just me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I am in Dublin on a short 5 day 4 night visit by myself. Price was a bigger factor in my equation then fluff and amenities. If you want a central location and price is a factor come here. Yes it is noisy outside, lots of liquored up folks screaming far into the night nearby. I smiled when I read the other reviews complaining about how noisy this hotel is. I was at the Central Hotel 2 blocks away the previous two nights and head the same noise. Goes with the territory I guess if you have a budget in mind. Of course, it helps if you are hard of hearing. One of the good things about getting older and not hearing as well as you used to. You can stay at lower priced centrally located hotels like this one.

The staff was fine, both the day shift and night shift were nice and helpful. Good enough. I would stay here again. Like how close the public transportation is.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    221
    111
    41
    42
See reviews for
34
150
54
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We only paid about 20 Euros a night which was fair. The room was a good size, with three big windows. The breakfasts were cheap. Hardly gourmet, but you got plenty and it shirked the Dublin trend of being massively over priced. Location was great for everything including the bus to the airport.

The decor was a bit tired, but it was clean. The staff were pretty helpful, although the main lights in our room didn't work and they never got fixed. I also emailed them a question before we arrived and they didn't get back to me, but generally they were ok .

Noise doesn't bother me but the friend I was with was kept awake by street noise. It never really stops, but they do give you ear plugs.

Overall, if you're looking for a luxury stay then avoid this. If you're looking for a clean, warm place to base your self for few nights you'll be fine. Towels, tea & coffee and hairdryers and supplied.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Good location in the heart of Dublin, close to Temple Bar, Trinity College and all the major shopping attractions. Staff were helpful and friendly. Our ensuite room was comfortable with a king sized bed, big flat screen TV, tea and coffee facilities.
The hotel faces onto Dame Street and so was quite noisy at night so we took a 'when in Rome' attitude and stayed out till late most nights and had no trouble sleeping soundly. The hotel does thoughtfully provide ear plugs for guests in the room though. The hotel bar provides a great breakfast.
There is free wifi throughout the hotel. All in all the Dublin Citi offered good value for money, and even free use of a nearby gym.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was extremely disappointed in this hotel. The staff was not helpful, and actually put me in a smaller room then one I paid for. The hotel was dirty, and the noise was terrible. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. The only pro to this place, was the location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Unfortunately as we are situated in the centre of Dublin city, there can be some street noise. However it is unclear from your review what floor you were staying on. The noise levels are considerable quieter on the upper floors.
We can only apologize that you found our staff unhelpful, please rest assured that we will be looking into this.

We are currently in the process of improving all of our rooms and we have taken your comments under great consideration and the room in which you stayed has since been refurbished.

We will take your review under serious consideration and make sure no such inconvenience is caused to any of our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a 3 night stay here, the room was lovely, good size. As we were on the 3rd floor the noise was no problem. The hotel was easy to find there was a bus stop a couple of minutes away that goes to and from the airport. Location was brilliant near loads of lovely restaurants and bars. Staff were helpful, would highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at Dublin Citi Hotel for two nights in November 2013. The location of the hotel is fantastic, right in the heart of the city in the Temple Bar district. There is a bus stop less than a minutes walk from the hotel for both the airport route (747), and the hop-on hop-off routes. (Dublin is a compact city, so a lot of main sights are within 10-15 minutes walk anyway, but the HOHO buses were still very useful and I would recommend them, particularly for travelers on a tight timescale. You can get combo passes for the Airlink and Hop-On Hop-Off buses, which we used and found to be good value for money).

However, because of its central location, the busy Dame Street outside is (understandably) noisy pretty much all night, with both traffic and intoxicated revellers. The hotel do provide earplugs for this reason, although I didn't use them (I can sleep through noise).

The hotel itself is a little dated and worn, but well-maintained and clean. The rooms are pretty spacious, and the beds were very comfortable. There is free WiFi advertised, and although the reception in our room was practically non-existent, the signal in the reception and bar area was fairly decent.

We didn't eat at the hotel during our stay, as there are too many great pubs and restaurants in the vicinity to try, and the breakfast seemed a bit overpriced to us. There is a Spar and a Tesco within sight of the hotel, so we used those as a cheaper alternative for breakfast (fruit and a bakery for a couple of euros). The Trinity bar attached to the hotel played live music during our stay, and was quite a nice bar to drink in. All staff we spoke to (hotel and bar) were very friendly and we had no issues during our stay that required their attention.

Overall, I'd recommend the Citi hotel (if you can sleep through noise or don't mind earplugs!), and I would stay at the Dublin Citi hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This Hotel is good for location, therefore, if you stay in Dublin for just few days, it could be a good choice to visit the city.
There is a little too much noise, but we are in the city center.
The wifi connection, in the third floor, isn't so fast: you need to have patience.
Anyway, you can enjoy a very 'old-fashioned irish' enviroment!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RECEPTION-STAFF, Manager at Dublin Citi Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At Dublin Citi Hotel we are always trying our best to provide the best customer service possible. The room are regularly inspected to make sure everything is in place. We have a 24/7 maintenance and housekeeping staff to take care of all our customer needs.

Having an in house bar and restaurant is an added bonus to our guests. We have live music with well known bands everyday. In addition, all the guests get free entry into the nightclub and also great offers on food and beverages.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dublin Citi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Citi Hotel

Address: 46-49 Dame Street | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Arch Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dublin Citi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in a 19th-century building in Dublin’s Temple Bar district. It offers a 24-hour reception, comfortable rooms with free Wi-Fi, an award-winning 4-floor bar and a nightclub.Guests can explore Dublin Castle and Trinity College, both are just a 5-minute walk away. The hotel is a 10-minute walk from Henry and Grafton Street, Dublin’s premier shopping areas.Rooms at The Dublin Citi Hotel of Temple Bar have a warm or fresh décor. They feature a TV, ironing equipment and tea/coffee-making facilities. They include bathrooms with baths, showers and hairdryers.Dublin Citi Hotel has a partnership with Crunch Fitness in Temple Bar, which allows guests to enjoy complimentary access to the premises (GYM, POOL, SAUNA...) during their stay.The vibrant Trinity Bar has 3 bars, an all day bar menu and 11 screens showing live sporting events. It has regular comedy and music nights. The modern Havana Club is open until late on Friday and Saturday nights and has an LCD floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dublin Citi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Arch Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dublin Citi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.