We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and dated hotel, but reasonably priced and close to Dublin city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West County Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added West County Hotel to your Saves list
West County Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chapelizod | Old Lucan Rd, Dublin 20, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Basic and dated hotel, but reasonably priced and close to Dublin city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a very dated hotel, but was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced with all necessities. The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful and had good knowledge of the frequent buses into the city. The breakfast was ordered rather than buffet and although nothing to write home about, we had pretty good Irish breakfasts all round. By car it was near enough one road into Dublin so easily accessible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear 87Rose,

Thank you for taking the time to review The West County Hotel on Tripadvisor. Reviews are very important to us and allow us to improve the customer experience at the hotel for future guests.

Thank you for your kind words on our price, cleanliness and friendly staff.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    80
    35
    7
    5
See reviews for
37
66
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here from monday to friday last week in july. We arrived early and they booked us in stright away.the room was very clean, we had a great veiw from the front of the hotel.Yes the hotel could do with updating but then the price would go up. The location was great we had hired a car as we did want to travel around, but the bus stops were right outside the hotel. The staff on reception was so helpfull and very friendly, Barmen chatty friendy and informative, giving us good directions. Wow the breakfast first class. great start to the day, Breakfast staff brilliant quick and welcoming. Only had one evening meal as we were out most nights, had the steak it was cooked to perfection. Would definitly stay here again no doubt about that. Thanks to all the staff from Mike and Carole.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Carole and Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay.

If you are returning to Dublin in the future, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel where we would be delighted to welcome you back to stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Gary Spain,
General Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We liked everything about this hotel. It is located on a bus route which carried us into the heart of Dublin for some sightseeing. The restaurant and bar were excellent. A space behind the hotel was provided for our motorbikes. All of the staff was really good and fun to deal with. The rooms were comfortable and clean. We will certainly stay here again if we are in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear tjanderson5,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words on our cleanliness, staff and parking facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for one night in a double room and I have to say it was one of my favorite stays. Hotel could really do with being updated though. Staff were really friendly and helpful, would definitely return! Breakfast in the morning was lovely too. As we were heading to a concert, reception had some travel options printed out and left for people to take, which I thought was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Laura S,

Thank you for taking the time to review The West County Hotel. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Gary Spain,
General Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buncrana, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed in the West County Hotel at the end of June. I knew of the hotel as we had friends that used to stay near the hotel. From the outside the hotel does look in need of work, as it is not that inviting.

On entering the hotel the reception area was fine and the staff on reception were friendly, as were the rest of the staff including the ladies serving breakfast. Talking about breakfast we had the Full Irish Breakfast no complaints just what we expected nothing special but fine.

Considering the price we got our room for we had no complaints on the value of the accommodation. The hotel is a bit out of the city but there is bus stop opposite. We selected the hotel on price, and that we knew the area. There is not really much close by, but did not matter to us.

The hotel looks a bit dated and could probably do with a revamp, but it was clean.

I believe there was a charge to use WiFi think you need to look at this as I don't think there should be a charge.

Overall I would return, if I was getting the right price for a room, as you have to take in the inconvenience of travelling in and out of the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Michael D,

Thank you for taking you time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. Reviews are very important to the hotel and allow us to improve our products and service for your future stay.

Thank you for your complimentary comments on our value and cleanliness. We take great pride in offering guests one of the best value hotels in the Dublin area. With this in mind, we have now made changes to our Wireless Internet charging scheme and I am happy to inform you since 1st July 2013, we are offering complimentary WiFi access for all overnight guests.

On the exterior of the hotel, we are currently upgrading the car parking area at the moment and, when finished, we hope this will greatly improve the overall facade of the hotel exterior.

Overall, I would like to thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan
Marketing Manager
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventry
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Have lunch here regularly in the Bar. Food is fresh and plentiful, although plates too small for the generous portions. Staff are friendly all over the hotel. Have dined in restaurant too and this is equally good. Good to see work currently happening on the outside. This will do justice to what goes on inside.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Ventry,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read you continuously enjoy your experiences at the hotel. Thank you for your comments on our quality of food and friendly staff. I will pass on your comments to our team here.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan
Marketing Manager
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Booked here last minute after being let down by another hotel, but really glad we did as this turned out to be a lovely, friendly place. From the excellent food and service at breakfast, helpful reception staff through to friendly bar staff in the evening we all had a wonderful stay - the live music in the bar on our last night was a great end to our holiday (Bar Manager was good fun and always remembered our drinks). You do need to get a bus into Dublin Centre (stop just outside hotel) and not much else around apart from houses but would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
112GaryS, Manager at West County Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear janettappytoes,

Thank you for taking the time to review The West County Hotel on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to read you were let down by another hotel, but I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope this made up for the earlier disappointment.

Thank you for your kind words on our staff, food and entertainment. I am delighted to read you would be happy to stay with us again and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,
Ulick Colgan,
Marketing Manager,
The West County Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West County Hotel

Address: Chapelizod | Old Lucan Rd, Dublin 20, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — West County Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your West County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West County Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West County Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.