We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise - A decent place to eat in Temple Bar! Arigatō” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyi Japanese Dining

Banyi Japanese Dining
3-4 Bedford Row | Temple Bar, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
+353 1 675 0669
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 1,829 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $5 - $53
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Noodle
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Banyi Japanese Dining is a hidden gem. A warm and traditional Japanese decor and welcoming staff will await for you in Temple Bar. Be amazed by our wonderful dishes which will entertain both your taste buds and eyes. Our menus are a meticulous selection of the best Japanese dishes, all homemade from the freshest ingredients by our highly experienced Headchef.
Dublin
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Surprise - A decent place to eat in Temple Bar! Arigatō”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I live in Dublin and basically would never usually eat in Temple Bar,
its very much a tourist trap area full of bland, overpriced restaurants.

I love Japanese food and have been to most of Dublin's Japanese restaurants.
So, I was surprised to see Banyi in the top 10 on Tripadvisor, I had never heard of it and was a bit sceptical that it was rated so highly.

Anyway, I paid them a visit and I can see why its rated so highly,
first the staff are lovely, really warm and genuinely cheerful, its very infectious.
The menu is quite extensive, theres a lot of non-traditional Japanese dishes on there, including chicken etc... The Bento boxes are very filling and offer really great value.
There's also a few nice treats added into the meal, like free edamame.

In summary, its a really nice place to eat, perhaps trumped slightly by Yamamori which has 3 branches in Dublin. But for a small restaurant, just starting out, these guys are great.
I hope they can maintain their high standard as the restaurant gets more popular.
I would return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fri3dtomato, Marketing Director at Banyi Japanese Dining, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you Vincejd,

glad that you liked your Banyi experience!

We always strive to keep the highest standards in order to deliver great Japanese food experiences!

We look to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    179
    40
    13
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to eat pretty late on a Monday night and the Thai restaurant we had been recommended had already shut for the night. Just round the corner we stumbled across Banyi and decided to give it a try. We're really glad we took a chance - what a fantastic meal and such a lovely suprise to find in such a touristy area. The staff were great, really friendly & welcoming - we didn't feel rushed even though we were the last customers. The artwork on the walls was really interesting in a good way. But the food was really special. Beautifully presented, tasted fresh and plentiful. Best avocado maki I've had in a long time to start with and the main of Udon noodles with egg, chicken, prawn tempura & veg was full of wonderful flavours. A lovely combo of red bean, green tea & vanilla ice cream for desert and a bottle of good white wine made for a brilliant meal. My two friends were equally as impressed with their food, not one of us had a dish that was less than great. Will definitely recommend to friends and will return next time we're in Dublin.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fri3dtomato, Marketing Director at Banyi Japanese Dining, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you BigBezza,

Glad that you and your friends were positively impressed by your dish selection!

We'd love to welcome you back for more amazing dishes and desserts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious-thank you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have been hoping to try Japanese food for a long time and found ourselves in Dublin today by chance so took the opportunity! The food here was absolutely fantastic, excellent value only €46 for starting dumplings, bento box each, black sesame ice cream to finish and half bottle of wine! The manager and waiters were so friendly and welcoming, nothing was a trouble to them. Even the chefs greeted us as we walked in! The place was so atmospheric and Japanese-esque. Will return without hesitation on our next visit to Dublin! Thank you for such a lovely restaurant :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fri3dtomato, Marketing Director at Banyi Japanese Dining, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you jabecca for your review.

We are glad that you loved our food, and considering that it was your first time to try Japanese food, we are very proud that you had your first Japanese meal in Banyi!

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service & delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went here for the first time last week. I'm a big fan of Japanese food and love trying new places. The service is top class, you can they are striving hard to look after their customers. We went on a sunny Tuesday night so it was quiet. The food was delicious, we had some sushi and the beef tataki to start - the beef is amazing! We both ordered the bento boxes, 1 chicken teriyaki and 1 katsu curry. They're great value and come with nigiri selection, tempura, salad, rice, miso. The only part which I thought could be improved on was the chicken teriyaki, the cold sauce was added on top of the hot chicken. It's much nicer when the chicken is glazed with the teriyaki and added in before the end of cooking. We didn't order desert as at €9.50 each they're quite expensive. They do a great value set dinner menu too which has desert included so this may be a good chance to try desert if going for that option. Overall the service was top, food was fantastic, we had a lovely evening and would definitely be returning again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fri3dtomato, Marketing Director at Banyi Japanese Dining, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you AidyC for your review,

we are happy you had a lovely evening with us.

Our beef is specially selected to offer our customers the best quality meats that along with our chef's experience, it become fenomenal!
also, thanks for the useful critique I will personally talk to the chef and implement the corrections.

We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Such a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was walking around Dublin city and Temple bar to find a cheap place to eat as my partner and I were low on funds...this place took a while for us to walk by-but what a gem! The food was very good quality, hige bento box with everything a bento box should have-and more! Huge recommendation for their katsu curry bento! It was very cheap in comparison to other places and the quality of food was much better than expected. The place was clean, the service was great, and there are anime-like drawings on the wall portraying different Japanese myths and legends which I actually walked round to read. If I ever visit Dublin again, I will definitely come here again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fri3dtomato, Marketing Director at Banyi Japanese Dining, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you Lucy P for your review,

really glad that you appreciated your Banyi experience.

In the future, we will host other events, keep an eye on our website to see what is going on and the menus!

See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banyi Japanese Dining also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Banyi Japanese Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyi Japanese Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.