We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best authentic BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bison Bar and BBQ

Bison Bar and BBQ
11 Wellington Quay, Dublin, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 1,995 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best authentic BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Ate here on Saturday 21st of June with group of friends for birthday celebration food was amazing full of smokey BBQ flavour and thanks to front of house Cathy for all her help would recommend this restraunt to anyone with no problems

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RShanley2013, Manager at Bison Bar and BBQ, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks so much for the great review! I'm delighted you were so happy with the food and service! Hope the rest of the bday celebrations went well and that we'll see you again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    57
    13
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very nice Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Ate lunch here this week, was duly impressed, brisket was very, very impressed. Friendly and courteous staff. Will recommend to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RShanley2013, Manager at Bison Bar and BBQ, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thanks so much Stuart - we really appreciate the review and the recommendations. That brisket lunch sambo is hard to beat Hope to see you again very soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Have been here a couple of times in the past few weeks! Amazing food and a good atmosphere! Obsessed with the pulled pork!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RShanley2013, Manager at Bison Bar and BBQ, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thanks Yvonne, we really appreciate the great review! I'm delighted to hear that you've been so happy with your visits to Bison Bar & BBQ! That pulled pork is a huge staff fave too - 14 hours smoking makes for seriously tender, flavoursome meat! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Barbie under the Irish Sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I've been craving for barbecue for the past few days , One fine day , we made our way to BISON bar , a very busy bar & restaurant .

A bubbly wait staff welcomed us and seated us right away to a cramped table,I liked our spot at first but when our food trays were served ,there was not enough space to put the 2 trays of food plus the drinks etc... We were struggling to enjoy our food in a dark corner with small plastic cutlery that broke twice (I hope they get rid of plastic cutlery, soon!) Thankfully, not long enough , another table became available, when I asked if we could move there, (she saw how uncomfortable we were on a a very small table for one... this lovely wait staff said, SURE!) The place was packed and buzzing.

We both had the combo plates ,I had brisket and chicken that came with 2 sides coleslaw and french fries ( I was not given a chipotle mayo that should have been served with the fries as on the menu , But i didn't bother to ask anymore) My companion had pork ribs and brisket for sides burnt beans and potato salad. Food was reasonably priced and good but STAND-OUT for us were the beef brisket and burnt beans.
Service were fast and friendly and I appreciate that they thanked us for our custom as we said our good- byes and thanks.

I love BBQ , I grew up on a farm where charcoal grilled meats were our usual fare and barbecue have always been my family's preferred method of cooking.
I have to say BISON BAR BBQ tasted authentic , flavorful and succulent and I must not forget to mention the AROMA from their outdoor grill station sealed off my BBQ cravings.

We loved the food, atmosphere, service,prices and location ... We will definitely be BACK and feast on their mouth-watering BBQ again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RShanley2013, Manager at Bison Bar and BBQ, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thanks so much for the brilliant and comprehensive review guys! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our BBQ fare so much, particularly as you know and love this style of cooking. Great to hear you were happy with the service too - we're very proud of our team! Hope you'll come to see us again and if you do, please don't hesitate to request silverware. We have loads in the kitchen - we use the plastic in an effort to stay true to the Texan BBQ joint vibe but have no problem providing silverware to anyone who'd like some! Thanks again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We sought this place out on the basis of a recommendation. The food was excellent - we had the pulled pork and half rack of ribs with sides. The service was polite and quick whilst the portions were extremely generous. In terms of setting, the restaurant is in a converted pub, complete with a range of humorous decorative touches: the stuffed bison's head hung over our table being one of them!

Highly recommended - a must visit in a Dublin.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RShanley2013, Manager at Bison Bar and BBQ, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thanks for the great review! Great to hear that you were so happy with the food and service - and Deco the Bison head of course - employee of the month, 8 months running!;) Hope we see you again for some BBQ feasting very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bison Bar and BBQ also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Bison Bar and BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bison Bar and BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.