We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pool ever?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marker Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Marker Hotel to your Saves list
The Marker Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Canal Square | Docklands, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Complimentary bubbles!
Ranked #4 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Bedford, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best pool ever?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I hesitated to book the Marker as it is brand new and a bit of a schelp from downtown Dublin but these were non-issues. Dublin is small so you can walk or take a quick cab ride to downtown. And for a new hotel things ran very smoothly. The indoor infiity pool is gorgeous: perfect for swimming laps and the spa has top-notch service and facilities. As for the AC, if you like North American temperatures then make sure to leave your key card in the wall by the door with the fan turned up and temperature turned down at all times...it takes a while to get the temperature down. Coffee facilities in the room and a Norrrth American outlet. A few steps from the hotel are several excellent restaurants and cafes including our favorite, Herbstreet, and the Ferryman pub is around the corner.

Room Tip: We overlooked Grand Canal square - recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Flebinski,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that you chose us for your stay in Dublin and we are delighted that we
didn’t disappoint you.

As you mentioned, you can be in Dublin City Centre in a 5 minute taxi ride and there are some lovely restaurant choices all within walking distance.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    164
    38
    21
    11
See reviews for
89
388
27
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is a lovely find in Dublin. The area is really nice for a walk. The new build is special and its well fitted out. The rooms are really nice but the Bathrooms are very poorly lit and in need of extra light even to see yourself in the mirror.
But the real gem here are the staff. There training has been very good and every one of them are proactive in looking after your every need and promoting the hotel. If that is the standard now they will be hard to beat in the future. Well worth the stay.
Ps the Cronuts are great

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear IrelandCeltic,

Thank you very much reviewing the Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I have passed your lovely comments to our Team and they are delighted when a guest recognizes their dedication and effort. Here at the Marker, are very proud of our team and give constant training and guidance that reflects on the outstanding customer service that we provide.

Thank you again for visiting us and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon

Ps- yes, the Cronuts are addictive!

Kind Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

It is really a very cool hotel in this arising hip and modern neighborhood of Dublin!

The views from the rooms, the atmosphere from their restaurant, the bar, the swimming pool and gym facilities are cool cool cool!

I strongly recommend it if you are looking forward to discover a modern Dublin and to treat you during your stay in Ireland.

If you are looking for a center located hotel though, this is not the place to be. Yes, it is walking distance from the center but it's a 'little' walk of ten minutes which is not as 'short' as you wish after a couple of times. If you are looking for a traditional Irish place this is not the place either...

Stay here if you enjoy being part of a trendy new and cool arising spot of town!

PS. Great food at breakfast and I have heard that their food for dinner is also very good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Sergiocanedo,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Marker Hotel.

We are delighted that your enjoyed your stay and got the opportunity all the facilities that The
Marker has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Wark Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel the staff couldn't be more helpful.the spa,pool and relaxation rooms were excellent.the roof top bar was amazing.the only let down was the price of the car park €30 per day .....................................

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Neil M,

Thank you very much for your review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our magnificent Spa & Wellness and also the Rooftop Bar, the place to be at the moment!

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon to The Marker Hotel.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed Monday and Tuesday last week, the room was awsome! The bed super comfy! the shower amazing! Breakfast was nice. I found the dinner menu very limited especially the starters... the steak dinner was nice was not gone on the pepper sauce though... the desert was epic and i had an non alcoholic strawberry and basil cooler that was to die for! We also tried the famous crounuts which were very tasty! I would love to stay here,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Ryanmcgeady,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have passed your comments to our Executive Chef and he is delighted that you enjoyed your dinner and have taken your comments on board regarding the menu.

I have to agree with you, the non-alcoholic cocktails are great specially on a hot summer day.

I thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

New designer hotel. Everything from start to finish was excellent. Only small comment is to expect fairly high bar prices. 9 euro 50 for a glass red wine. Having said that still very much worth it. Otherwise couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear MadINorthernIreland,

Thank you very much for your review of the Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

In regards of the wine price, we do have an extensive and lovely wine list with wines starting at E6.75 euros per glass.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Marker in the near future.

Kind regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I love staying at The Marker when I visit Dublin. The staff are attentive, the rooms are gorgeous and the location is fantastic for where I need to be. Room service is quick and accurate and just as good as eating in the bar or restaurant. Roof top bar is very cool although gaining access does often take a while however it's probably one of the few rooftop bars in Dublin therefore it draws a crowd. There's a great vibe in the bar at the end of the day. The gym is good and clean. I've yet to try the pool or spa! Give me time :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear LivingAbroad,

Thank you very much for your great review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and got the opportunity to experience the
different areas of the hotel.

Regarding the Rooftop Bar, like you mentioned, it’s the “Place to Be” at the moment so unfortunately sometimes we can’t accommodate everyone at the same time but I do assure you that we look after our guests and try to keep them informed of the waiting times during busy periods.

Thank you again for recommending the Marker Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Square | Docklands, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marker Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extraordinary, surprising and luxurious, the Marker Hotel is the perfect urban retreat for those who crave the unconventional, yet still expect the exceptional standards of service that are the signature of a member of The Leading Hotels of the World(R). One of Dublin's most visually arresting landmarks, the Marker Hotel offers a distinct blend of urban style and luxury. Located right in the heart of the Docklands, Dublin's most prolific cultural hub, it's the perfect base from which to explore our capital city. The hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant as its centre piece, with 187 guest rooms over six floors. It also features a Rooftop Lounge, a striking space overlooking Dublin city, which blends indoor and outdoor areas the perfect space to enjoy lunch, cocktails and dinner. The Marker's spa features five spacious treatment rooms with a designated relaxation area and a 23 metre infinity pool. Further amenities include a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and fitness suite. The Marker's Conference and events facilities will contain nine adaptable spaces with capacities ranging from 20-250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, LHW, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Marker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.