We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marker Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Marker Hotel to your Saves list
The Marker Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Canal Square | Docklands, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #2 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Waterford Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel. Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband stayed at the Marker for one night. It's a beautiful hotel. The staff are so pleasant and friendly. The food in the brasserie was excellent. And the rooftop bar was amazing. The room was really nice with a great view
The only complaint we had was that the toilet seat was broken. For such an expensive hotel this was unacceptable and should have been spotted by whoever cleaned the room before we arrived. Other than that we had a great time there and would return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, General Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Marygmcrath,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us this great feedback.

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize for the toilet seat being broken but let me assure you that this has been rectified.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon

Kindest regards

Charlie Sheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    143
    32
    18
    10
See reviews for
79
326
25
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Lovely Hotel but service is not up to its star rating.
The bar and bar staff were the worst I've ever seen.
They couldn't get a drinks order right, had to wait 20 mins to get drinks from the bar, an order for cocktails had to be returned as they were not done properly, a vodka tonic was served as gin and tonic.
Breakfast at the hotel was not included in the room and was €15 per head for continental(way over priced)



Rooms were clean, quite and comfortable.
It's cheaper park your car next door at the Qpark than with the hotel.
Finally nice hotel with 2 star service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

First time ever writing a review for somewhere.....

Stayed marker bar the 8 June 2013, had problem with check in as i had parked in a car park that says MARKER BAR car park which we pre-paid but it turned out we werent supposed park there and ended up having to pay for the short stay. Rooms are good but not what you would expect of a 5 star hotel.

the roof top bar though was amazing as it was a sunny weekend and the cocktail were savage although they ran out of ice and the bar service itself wasn't the best.

we had also paid for 2 breakfasts for the following morning and we had only received one which was a bit of disaster. so we didnt even bother eating it and just checked out when we had planned to have a bit of a relaxing morning in there pool which we didnt even bother using although on check out they refunded the price of one breakfast.

The only thing that saved us from having a bad weekend was the rooftop bar and cocktails, all in all i wouldnt stay again even for free.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear John K

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at The Marker Hotel

I appreciate the time you have taken to share your review and I would welcome an opportunity to discuss your stay in detail at a time convenient to you, I have listed my contact details below.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Lili Torres
e- lili.torres@themarker.ie
p. 01 687 5100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at the Marker as we were going to see a show in the Bord Gais, perfect location for the theatre. The hotel rooms are beautiful, black furniture, purple carpet and curtains and white walls, different but really nice. I found all the hotel staff to be extreemly polite and friendly, at breakfast my son was offered hot chocolate by a really friendly waitress which i thought was a nice touch. We were refused entry to the roof top bar as my son is 11 and children are not allowed, which is understandable really for safety issues.
Overall a lovely hotel and I would stay again but perhaps a little far from Dublin City Centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, General Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear DACork

Thank you for taking the time to review The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

Your praise of our property and staff was a delight to read and I will pass it to our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Marker Hotel!

Kind Regards

Charlie Sheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillelagh Co Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A friend and I stayed for one night in twin-bedded superior room which was spacious and very well appointed. The beds were each 4' and soooo comfortable. We found chocolates on our bed in the evening, plus slippers and fluffy bath robes are provided. The 'tweaks' needed were that no top lights worked [which made working out the air-con almost impossible, as no light and that part of room black wood], a slow-draining shower which resulted in water over floor, and a curtain we were unable to open in the morning. You are also informed that there is full directory about hotel and services on TV but no instructions how to locate it. Minor things, but unexpected in a 5* hotel. I also found the black dimly-lit corridors very disconcerting and the fact you couldn't open a window.

Overall, the decor of the hotel is very modern and smart, but I would think it would become shabby and dated sooner rather than later.

We had the pre-theatre dinner which was delicious and very reasonable. The wines by the glass were very good quality. Breakfast was excellent. There are also plenty of local bars and restaurants nearby.

We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly, but there is definitely an issue about leaving tables uncleared, both in the restaurant, bar and rooftop bar. It was also disconcerting to have to go through 'security' to go up to the rooftop bar, particularly as we are elderly 'girls' and hardly constitute a risk, I would think!

I spoke to a manageress before leaving about the housekeeping issues, but no notes were taken.

However, we will definitely stay at The Marker again. Apart from anything else, it's proximity to Bord Gais is a winner. We also found it to be reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We had no view in 501 but room was so spacious it didn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, General Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Countrybumkin,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Charlie Sheil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here shortly after it opened, thinking it would be at it's best. With the price and the "5 star luxury" advertisement we were expecting lots of helpful staff who weren't long in the job so would be willing to give great service, and also larger hotel rooms than in the city..boy were we mistaken! On the good: the rooms are clean and nicely decorated with big beds, flat screen TV's and marble bathrooms with underfloor heating. The location is excellent for the Bord Gais. And the breakfast was superb. On the bad: Our room was not ready to check in to for 3 hours after "check in time"! And no apology was made for that fact. Waiting to check in we went to the bar for a drink, and on asking the bar man if there was a cocktail menu to look at, I was told in no uncertain terms to look around the tables for one! We are from the countryside in Ireland, so we were not aware there was a marathon on that weekend in the city, so after going to a show next door in the bord Gais we went for food just outside the city driving ourselves..only to find all routes back to the hotel were closed! So we could not make our way back to the marker for 3 hours! You would expect to be reminded of the marathon on your check in or at the very least before you ask the staff to bring your car out of parking for that evening. We did complain about this at 12pm when we finally arrived back to the hotel and the manager seemed extremely disinterested bordering on rude. The rooms are very small for the price, and we had no windows to open even though there are huge panes of glass! We are a young couple and we work hard to have nice weekends away in nice places, but I would not reccomend the marker based on its staff or level of service. I have stayed in better more reasonably priced 4 star hotels I would reccomend quicker. For the price there is bound to be better hotels with better staff in the city!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Dara P,
Thank you for your review of The Marker Hotel on TripAdvisor.
I have sent you a private email.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently spent an evening at the tables outside the lobby and on the roof terrace. While the views of Dublin from the roof are spectacular, it is unfortunate that the staff haven't been trained. The waitress spilled more bubbly than she poured and the staff on the terrace leave a lot to be desired (two tables full of dirty glasses beside the bar). Come 10.30 the security man was anxious to clear the bar and adamant to get us to go downstairs even though we had just been sold another bottle of wine. They weren't offering to carry our left over drinks downstaris for us either. Shoddy service and a bit upity about "the list" to get upstairs to the terrace.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie_Sheil, Guest Relations Manager at The Marker Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear GinagDublin,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at The Marker Hotel

I appreciate the time you have taken to share your review and I would welcome an opportunity to discuss your stay in detail at a time convenient to you, I have listed my contact details below.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Lili Torres
Guest Relations Manager
e- lili.torres@themarker.ie
p. 01 687 5100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marker Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Square | Docklands, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marker Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extraordinary, surprising and luxurious, the Marker Hotel is the perfect urban retreat for those who crave the unconventional, yet still expect the exceptional standards of service that are the signature of a member of The Leading Hotels of the World®. One of Dublin’s most visually arresting landmarks, the Marker Hotel offers a distinct blend of urban style and luxury. Located right in the heart of the Docklands, Dublin’s most prolific cultural hub, it’s the perfect base from which to explore our capital city. The hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant as its centre piece, with 187 guest rooms over six floors. It will also feature a Rooftop Lounge, a striking space overlooking Dublin city, which blends indoor and outdoor areas the perfect space to enjoy lunch, cocktails and dinner. The Marker’s spa features four spacious treatment rooms with a designated relaxation area and a 23 metre infinity pool. Further amenities include a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and fitness suite. The Marker’s Conference and events facilities will contain nine adaptable spaces with capacities ranging from 20-250 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, LHW, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Marker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.