We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food! and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lumanti of Nepal

Lumanti of Nepal
88 Rathgar Road | Rathgar, Dublin, Ireland
01 4920633
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 1,886 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Barbecue, Indian, Nepali, Wine Bar, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: At our authentic restaurant we aim to provide a realistic Nepalese fine dining experience.Eat on site or at home with fresh scented aromas of Nepalese spices and tastes that match to none. Only the healthiest and freshest ingredients are selected by our chefs to craft our dishes.With a full and friendly Nepalese staff of waiters and chefs we are ready to introduce you to a true representation of Nepalese cuisine.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food! and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The staff were very friendly, and we ate two stunning dishes, lamb gorkhali and chicken nanglo.
Nice atmosphere, good value and will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb Nepalese Cuisine in Rathgar.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This restaurant used to be owned by Montys of Kathmandu who have an excellent well established business in Temple Bar. It was taken over recently by previous management and chefs.
The food quality is excellent. Nepalese food is delicious . Dishes such as tandoori baby squid ,momos, and bbq jumbo are a speciality. Fish and Vegetarian courses are very good. Lumanti have inherited one of the most interesting wine lists in Dublin from Montys and many wines are srved by the glass. They also have a very nice front outdoor eating area. Takeaway food is also available. All in all a hidden gem in Rathgar that requires discovering.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“seek it out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Formerly known as montys of rathgar, this is a hidden gem but definitely worth the trek out of town.
I cannot fault the food or the generous service here. Tonight I had their award winning monkfish tareko, I felt like the table next to me thought I was reinacting "that scene" from when Harry met Sally as I tasted it!
While many asian restaurants have the reputation of presenting the same generic frozen desserts Lumanti make their own. My own recommendation is Gajar ko haluwa- ignore the description and dive in spoon first to this taste sensation.
Excellent wine menu and also have a seperate coeliac menu.
Overall, I can't wait to go back,
Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“So tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Just had a takeaway from here tonight. 10 out of 10. Was always a big fan of montys and was disappointed earlier when I seen the name change outside. But there was no need for me to be the food was excellent. Cannot wait to get a night out in the restaurant soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sany D, Manager at Lumanti of Nepal, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review. As you have stated our food obviously speaks louder than our name. We are always happy to provided you with the best Nepalese food in Ireland, whether in the restaurant or at home. We appreciate your continued support and hope you do visit us soon.

Kind Regards,
Lumanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A food gem in rathgar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My friends & i had a brilliant experience at Lumanti of Nepal on Saturday night. We were greated by a very warm welcome. Our waiter gave us suggestions of dishes to try & we were not disappointed! The food was delicious & we sent back clean plates. We will definitely be making this a regular choice for a night out. The seats upstairs are very cool.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sany D, Manager at Lumanti of Nepal, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you and your friends had a great night with us. You must have been seated on our low chairs (the cushion seating). They are very tradiational in Nepal and very comfortable! We are happy you like all the food. The chefs send their regards and when you return don't be afraid to say hello in our open kitchen window.

Kind Regards,
Lumanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lumanti of Nepal also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Lumanti of Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumanti of Nepal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.