We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vintage Kitchen

The Vintage Kitchen
No 7 Poolbeg Street, Dublin, Ireland
016798705
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,820 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Absolutely fantastic food, good value and very friendly service - might not look like much from the outside, but soooo worth the visit!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    59
    21
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Irish cooking in unfussy surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Excellent modern Irish food, delicious chowders, seafood and organic Irish meats and as a bonus you can bring your own bottle of wine, there’s no corkage charge. Unfussy and reasonably priced, head here if you want to experience genuine Irish cooking and avoid the fake tourist fare they’re pedaling in Temple Bar.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lively dining with a creative twist on hearty Irish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We arrived on a Friday evening to fully booked restaurant without reservation (I underestimated how popular this place is) but the manager told us to go for a pint next door and in 20 mins he came looking for us with a nice table down the back due to a cancellation. We could hold onto our beers and were recommended to get a bottle on wine from local off-license as they have a very relaxed BYOW policy. The haddock and chorizo chowder I had for starters was the best chowder Ive ever tasted and not small in portion either. My partner the lamb's liver which was delicious. For mains, I had a small poussin with potatoes and feta cheese salad. It was very tasty but I couldnt help but feel I enjoyed my starters a bit more. My partner had the hake with cockles in a sumptuously spicy basil sauce with a side of caviar which was very interesting. We were literally stuffed come the end so we passed on dessert. The open kitchen and close proximity to other patrons only added to the ambiance and we thoroughly enjoyed the relatively cheap dining experience, cant wait to come back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really really good food, and great front of house man.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

It was tough to get a table but finally had a meal here on Friday. The food was excellent,however it could perhaps be tweaked as felt lamb shank was a bit wintery for the time of year, but I'm being picky. The food was excellent, flavours and presentation both.
It is great that they have a BYOB policy, which is refreshing for Dublin and is something I wish was embraced more. I hate being fleeced in to buying sub-standard wines in Irish restaurants.
All in all in can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Incredible food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic dining experience. Food is incredibly good with brilliant service to match. We patiently waited 3 months for this reservation. Well worth the wait.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vintage Kitchen also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Vintage Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vintage Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.