We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch Date - Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Damascus Gate

Damascus Gate
10 Upper Camden Street | Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland
014752000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 1,894 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, European, Turkish, Middle Eastern, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Syrian and Lebanese cafe restaurant and shishs bar
Dublin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lunch Date - Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The place is very clean inside, toilets are not the best, very small.

The lady who served us for lunch was friendly and helpful, the food was perfect and very very tasty,

Chicken and lamb both very unique. The only problem was the one girl was alone and was rushed off her feet, we went for lunch and waited 15 minutes for the bill as she was making coffee, serving food etc.

Cutting a key cost like service will hurt this nice place, we wanted a nice lunch which we had but we had to go back to work and didnt enjoy waiting around :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    53
    7
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
272 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Make your reservation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Friendly staff helping you to make a choice from the menu.
Lebanees menu shows good food selection.
For those familair with sisha, a smoking room is available.
Bring your own wine from the supermarket!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't forget your your bottle - or your change :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Here with a large group of vegetarians. The menu looks fantastic and is very reasonably priced, the food is well presented. Had a starter of baba ganoush which was perfectly smokey an a main of Jerusalem mezze - I think I got the vegan version as it as cheeseless (Ididn't specify this when I ordered but it didn't bother me), it was a nice mixed plate of food, it all tasted okay. The staff were great, very helpful and allowed us to pay individually for our food The restaurant itself is quite comfortable and seemed to suit our group quite well. The BYOB policy is fantastic.
They didn't have change in the till so maybe make sure you have smaller notes and change if you are planning to pay with cash.
Parking across the road is free after 7pm. Parking in the residential areas around the corner is metred and expensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very mixed - not sure I'll be back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had hoped to give the Damascus Gate a good review, as I think its great when restaurants allow a 'bring your own bottle' policy and don't charge an expensive corkage. From the positive point of view, the staff were very friendly, and made us feel welcome. They checked to ensure everything was ok throughout as well. The portions were quite good, and there was extra bread etc. with each course. On the negative side,I thought the salad was a bit basic, the starter was very over done and main course seemed quite basic for the price. The desserts were awful however, and really lost this place a few points, very very poor.
Pity, because there were a lot of good points, but I don't think I'd go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious and cheap (don't forget your bottle!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Four of us came here for dinner before going on to a concert nearby. We shared two different mezza platters to start which gave us a whole array of flavorsome starters to share. All the mains were equally tasty - and it's nice to have something different form the usual Italian, Indian etc. We discovered it's a BYO restaurant after arriving, so ran out to buy wine from the store across the road. Remember to arrive with your bottle in hand!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Damascus Gate also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Damascus Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damascus Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.