We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Flaming Stone

The Flaming Stone
Terminal 1 Dublin Airport, Dublin, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,541 of 1,795 restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ok breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Ok place for a breakfast or early lunch.
Me and my family had an early lunch there today. They had an offer of Breakfast for a family(five people) for 24.95€. The staff seemed really slow and uninspired but they all surprised when they brought out a nice and fresh plate with food after only like 10-15 minutes after order. Good quality of the food and a relaxing spot for a family in a busy airport.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

7% Recommend
    1
    3
    4
    9
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“The hell hole of dublin airport”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Theres more atmostphere in the toilets. The bar manager ( fat, ugly,) is the most ignorant person ive ever seen to his staff. The owner of this bar should get rid of him!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Don't waste a part of your life there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Even though a lot of things about this place looked promising at first sight, everything beyond that proved to be a complete disaster. Let's not forget that this is a restaurant at an airport, meaning, service needs to be faster and better, considering people will have planes to catch and are expecting to have a proper meal, therefore choosing a place like this instead of a fast food restaurant. Unfortunately, we didn't even get a chance to taste it. We were seated quick enough, within 2-3 minutes, but waiting for our order to be taken for 20+ minutes is unacceptable. We waited and said, ok we're going to give them 5 more minutes and then just leave. At the end of those 5 minutes waiter came around and took the order from the people at the table right next to ours, ignoring us again. We decided that was it, we took our empty tummies to Burger King. Considering we were there for good 20 minutes, by looking at the way waiters are organized and how long it takes them to service anyone, I'd strongly suggest not going there if you're hungry, or could become in 30 minutes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Life is too short to waste it at The Flaming Stone”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Over many years of travelling through airports big and small through out the world I have never, ever, encountered such a deplorable place to eat. The Flaming Stone is not a suitable restaurant for any airport. The place is operated by people who clearly know nothing about how to run a cafe, let alone a restaurant. Even when it is less than half full it takes too long to be seated, too long for someone to bother to take the orders and too long for the food to be served.

In my case I had to get a manager just to get someone to take our order. When the food (scrambled egg and toast) eventually came it was bland. The drinks we had ordered never showed up so we refused to pay for them. Which brings me to the price: rip off, pure and simple. They charged €1.30 for a grilled tomato!

At the prices they were charging we were expecting a better quality than fast food. The service was far from fast and the insipid reconstituted egg in McDonalds has more flavour. My advice is not to eat here, it will leave a bitter taste.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The potential for peace was overridden by the inept staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We wanted a quiet place to relax after flying all night and this seemed perfect BUT the staff don't care about seating you promptly and don't ask to be seated in a comfy booth as food is only served in one area this morning, even though the booth we wanted is about 20 yards away! We left and found another restaurant with a place to spread out. This airport needs better seating for tired travelers.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flaming Stone also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Flaming Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flaming Stone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.