We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern pub that hasn't lost its roots” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SEARSONS of Baggot St.

SEARSONS of Baggot St.
42-44 Upper Baggot Street, Dublin, Ireland
+353 1 660 0330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 1,820 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $34
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the beautiful Baggot Street Village on the Southside of Dublin, only a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green on your way to the Aviva Stadium, Searson's of Baggot Street is one of the finest Dublin Pubs you are likely to visit. The Chawke Pub Group has restored this historic Dublin pub to its former greatness. Established in 1845 Searson's has earned it's place in history, step inside and you will experience a beautifully restored bar, excellent service, the finest food and drink, and that friendly, warm and inviting atmosphere that is synonymous with the Chawke name. We have installed a beautiful Beer Garden to the rear of Searson's complete with high definition screens for all your sporting pleasure. Heated and covered for those chilly days and nights but it can also be wonderfully open for those balmy summer occasions when the sun graces us with its presence! Our brand new 'state of the art' kitchen serves delicious food all day and our bars are stocked with the finest of Beers, Wines, Spirits & Liqueurs. We can cater for family occasions, after work parties and any other celebration you might have. Our Sunday Jazz sessions are an absolute must and we regularly have other live music playing at weekends and bank holiday Sundays, we also have a fantastic cocktail menu which changes regularly ...Come in and find your favourite!
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Modern pub that hasn't lost its roots”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Searsons is a nicely updated "gastropub" that hasn't lost the feeling of a true pub. It effortlessly combines the atmosphere of a neighborhood local with more modern food, space and service.

The crowd seemed to be mostly locals after work, out for supper or drinks. The service was efficient and friendly. The skylights in the main room along with high ceilings make for a nice late evening sit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    58
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Ginormous Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

You wouldn't know it from the outside but this bar is HUGE. When you walk in first it's quite narrow but then opens up and sprawls right back for ever. I was hugely impressed with the dress of the bar staff/waiters as they were all dressed the same in black shirts and maroon ties and this really gave a sense of uniformity. The service was excellent and very professional. A very nice surprise from somewhere I had never been before and well worth a visit. A real balance between locals and tourists alike. There seemed to be a roaring trade in food but we didn't have any so can't comment on it. A good night was had for sure.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Great service, great atmosphere and great food. A visit to Searsons is highly recommended, absolutely a fantastic place to chill out, enjoy a meal and drink and experience the friendliness and craic of a real Dublin pub, not to be missed!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great pub - but... the that was not a blaa but a measly bread roll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Charlie has done a fantastic job on Searsons.
While lunch was very good - I noticed a mortal sin against the people of Waterford.
The famous Waterford Blaa was one of five new quality farm products added to the register of protected designations of origin (PDOs) and protected geographical indications.
I ordered a Blaa from the lunch menu and was disgusted to be "passed off" with a measly bread roll.
For those of you who think you are eating a Blaa - go to Waterford and note the difference.
Come on Charlie - ye can do better than that

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We really enjoyed eating at Searson's. Our waitress, Siobhan, was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. Our party enjoyed, fish and chips, lamb shops, cod and vegetarian mushroom/tofu stirfry. It was a very busy restaurant. There is a back patio were people who like to smoke, eat. It was a short walk from our hotel Doubletree Dublin.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SEARSONS of Baggot St. also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to SEARSONS of Baggot St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SEARSONS of Baggot St., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.