We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas turned 'a la carte'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fade Street Social

Fade Street Social
4 - 6 Fade Street | Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland
01 6040066
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fade Street Social is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #476 of 1,890 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Celebrating Irish food and character, Fade Street Social offers forward-thinking seasonal cuisine and cool Scandinavian-style design. Set within a sprawling 8000 sq ft space, smooth caramel leather benches, chunky gnarled wood tables and quirky art installations are dotted throughout. Alongside a savvy cocktail and beer menu, enjoy delicious wood-fired flatbreads, farm-foraged vegetables and tender braised meats.
Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Tapas turned 'a la carte'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Treating my son to lunch on receipt of a great school report we hurried in the door to Fade Street Social and were seated. When the menus came I realised that this was not 'tapas' but 'a la carte'! However, we were not the only people with limited time and ordered flatbread style pizza - one with pork belly, truffles, mushrooms and mozzarella and the other with chorizo and squid! Chunky chips served with slim strips of bacon and a goats cheese were stunning. The service was excellent and our lunch was very tasty indeed. Many thanks - looking forward to trying the tapas bar which opens at 5p.m. weekdays and 1p.m. Saturdays!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    174
    91
    66
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“How it should be done !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This restaurant not only has superb food ...excellent staff but it is a lesson in professional and attentive service. The place buzzes vibrant buzzing noisy and fun. The staff chat and make you feel you are a regular without being intrusive or impacting upon the service levels. This is how a restaurant of this style should be run.

It would not suit any one wanting a quiet night out out ....but then again variety is good.

The food matches all this but be careful the flat breads are disguised pizzas which are large and filling...the Irish stew was to die for....This was probably the best meal we had in a three week trip throughout Ireland...is worth just jumping on a plane to Dublin to go there for dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Very tasty tapas and excellent cocktail menu, bit pricy overall. Great for a fun night out with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The tapas bar is very trendy and has a lively atmosphere. We sat along the counter, watching the chefs make the tapas, which was nice but we were nearly roasted by the end of the meal.

The menu had lots of tasty options, but the vast majority are battered, breadcrumbed or smothered in cheese. Don't get me wrong, everyone loved them and raved about the flavours, so if this is your thing, you'll love it.

I had the carpaccio of beef, the air dried lamb, the pork belly and the sesame cabbage (not a breadcrumb in sight!!). All were excellent, but I certainly wasn't stuffed.

Top Tip - Cocktails are half price on Tuesdays!! I tried the Big Fella cocktail which had mainly beetroot and blackberry flavours, and I loved that!! I also tried the carrot top, which was far too easy to drink, and one that had elderflower and apple in it. The Big Fella was my favourite, as it's not sickly sweet, which is what puts me off a lot of cocktails.

My friend stuck with the Betsy Bracer and thought it was amazeballs! She also had the prawn tempura, the breaded cod cheek and the doughnut balls for dessert. Not quite my thing, but she absolutely loved all of these.

The tapas bar is perfect if you fancy some tasty bites, and are not overly concerned about the price, calories or nutritional balance / content!! It's a perfect place for drinks and food with a group of friends, as even the fussiest of eaters will find something that they like on the extensive menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun, hip restaurant for Foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A small group of 5 of us popped in for dinner without a reservation. First, I don't recommend this. Finding a table in a nice restaurant in Dublin requires reservations, so I was thinking there was no hope for us. We put our name in and went up to the bar for what we thought would be a long wait. The weather was great, so the place was jumping. Even with the crowd, we were served straight away and were really comfortable. (The specialty drinks were yummy!) The restaurant and bar is broken up into a few floors, with the bar and outside bar up top, tapas on the mezzanine and restaurant on the main level. It's gorgeous and open, with full views of the kitchens.

Before we knew it, Owen (who is seriously a rock star) managed to find us a great table and looked after us really well. The food was wonderful. We started with the Irish take on flat bread and then moved on to the mains. Everyone loved what they ordered, and pretty soon we were passing the plates around saying, "You have to try this!" The menu is full of "traditional Irish" recipes with a modern, gourmet twist. There is also a section of the restaurant that just does tapas, if you're looking for something light.

We didn't have dessert, but only because we ate so much, there simply wasn't room for anything else. We rolled out of there. I can't wait to go back.

Thanks again, Owen, for making it happen.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food, obnoxious staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

13 of us had dinner here on a Sunday as a going away party. They offered us a chef's menu for 25 euro/person which was great value. The food was interesting and tasty and they brought out a lot of food including a little dessert. Some of us had eaten here before from the a la carte menu and turned out quite expensive so, it was great. The downside was the service. They brought out the food one after another super fast. They were clearly in a rush to close the kitchen. The food came on 3~4 plates to share except for the little pork belly burger which we got 1 each. One of the dessert was a little donut which we got 12 of. Since there were 13 of us, couldn't they just add 1 more little donut??? I spoke to a gentleman named Mark (I think) to make a reservation and he was very nice and helpful, but all the waitresses we dealt with on the night were unfriendly and obnoxious. I wonder if Dylan McGrath is aware of this.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fade Street Social also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Fade Street Social? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fade Street Social, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.