We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cafe in Dublin 6. Fact!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Apple Cafe

The Black Apple Cafe
208 Harold's Cross Road | Harold's Cross, Dublin, Ireland
353 1 497 8632
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,583 of 1,831 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, European, Café, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: New Cafe open in the heart of Harold's Cross, Dublin 6
Galway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best cafe in Dublin 6. Fact!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

I love this café. Everything about it. The staff are fantastic – super friendly and genuine. The food is superb. I always find it hard not to order the beefburger because it is so flippin good but when I do venture away from it (when I’m being all ‘healthy’ like and not going for the heaviest thing on the menu!) everything else has been delicious too.
The coffee is A1, the cakes are home made (try the carrot cake, seriously). The price is right, the clientele are friendly, the atmosphere is exactly what you want it to be.

It is, without doubt, the best café in the Rathmines / Harolds Cross area (and I have tried them all!).

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    10
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clane, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely little café”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

A friend and I had a delicious lunch at the Black Apple Café yesterday. The staff could not have been friendlier or more attentive and there was a really nice selection on the menu - all choices were very good value and the portions were huge. We wish that we had had room for dessert as there was a huge selection of very tasty looking cakes! Will definitely be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dessert heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I have been here a few times. The food is magic - loads of it and very tasty. The desserts are simply magic. Staff are friendly and chatty. I have been here a few times.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely breakfast sitting out in their little courtyard area at the back of the cafe. It helped that it was sunny but it was not just the weather than led to such a pleasant experience. The service was very good as was the food. We will definitely come back and I have recommended it to others in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have been to the black apple quite a lot since moving to the area and it really is a delight. The staff are lovely and so is the food. The brunch, lunch and the all day breakfast are delicious and I think the coffee is great. The cakes look amazing And the carrot cake was so good I came in the next day to get it to take away. Would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Apple Cafe also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Black Apple Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Apple Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.