We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dessert heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Apple Cafe

The Black Apple Cafe
208 Harold's Cross Road | Harold's Cross, Dublin, Ireland
353 1 497 8632
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,558 of 1,825 restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, European, Café, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Description: New Cafe open in the heart of Harold's Cross, Dublin 6
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dessert heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 NEW

I have been here a few times. The food is magic - loads of it and very tasty. The desserts are simply magic. Staff are friendly and chatty. I have been here a few times.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    35
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely breakfast sitting out in their little courtyard area at the back of the cafe. It helped that it was sunny but it was not just the weather than led to such a pleasant experience. The service was very good as was the food. We will definitely come back and I have recommended it to others in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have been to the black apple quite a lot since moving to the area and it really is a delight. The staff are lovely and so is the food. The brunch, lunch and the all day breakfast are delicious and I think the coffee is great. The cakes look amazing And the carrot cake was so good I came in the next day to get it to take away. Would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Super food, lovely staff, what's not to like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

It's nearly 6 months since I was here for lunch. I waited for an inside table outside and the owner brought me a newspaper and water to bide the time. Excellent professional service. The goats cheese salad was excellent. I had a portion of good chunky chips. The waitress is very efficient, friendly and happy! She even asked other customers if they wanted doggy bags to bring leftovers home. All in all a great friendly place to eat and relax. This is a child friendly cafe also and very affordable. Must visit more often. Parking bit of a challenge is the only flaw.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic, as always!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We are somewhat regulars at the Black Apple, but I always try to go for something different every time I'm there and am never disappointed!
The breakfasts, lunches and cakes are always so tasty and delicious! Favourite things are the veggie breakfast, the falafel and the goats cheese salad - and I'm not even vegetarian!!
The service is always A+, greeted with a smile, promptly have your order taken and just enough chit-chat to feel really comfortable but like you can still get on with your own conversations!
The last two times I've been we've had a bit of a wait for a table, but it's definitely worth it, and great to see the business is obviously doing well for the owners and will hopefully be in Harold's Cross for many years to come!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Apple Cafe also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Black Apple Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Apple Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.