We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Apple Cafe

The Black Apple Cafe
208 Harold's Cross Road | Harold's Cross, Dublin, Ireland
353 1 497 8632
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,539 of 1,797 restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, European, Café, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Description: New Cafe open in the heart of Harold's Cross, Dublin 6
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW

We enjoyed a lovely breakfast sitting out in their little courtyard area at the back of the cafe. It helped that it was sunny but it was not just the weather than led to such a pleasant experience. The service was very good as was the food. We will definitely come back and I have recommended it to others in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    34
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have been to the black apple quite a lot since moving to the area and it really is a delight. The staff are lovely and so is the food. The brunch, lunch and the all day breakfast are delicious and I think the coffee is great. The cakes look amazing And the carrot cake was so good I came in the next day to get it to take away. Would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Super food, lovely staff, what's not to like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

It's nearly 6 months since I was here for lunch. I waited for an inside table outside and the owner brought me a newspaper and water to bide the time. Excellent professional service. The goats cheese salad was excellent. I had a portion of good chunky chips. The waitress is very efficient, friendly and happy! She even asked other customers if they wanted doggy bags to bring leftovers home. All in all a great friendly place to eat and relax. This is a child friendly cafe also and very affordable. Must visit more often. Parking bit of a challenge is the only flaw.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic, as always!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We are somewhat regulars at the Black Apple, but I always try to go for something different every time I'm there and am never disappointed!
The breakfasts, lunches and cakes are always so tasty and delicious! Favourite things are the veggie breakfast, the falafel and the goats cheese salad - and I'm not even vegetarian!!
The service is always A+, greeted with a smile, promptly have your order taken and just enough chit-chat to feel really comfortable but like you can still get on with your own conversations!
The last two times I've been we've had a bit of a wait for a table, but it's definitely worth it, and great to see the business is obviously doing well for the owners and will hopefully be in Harold's Cross for many years to come!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Pure Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Its such a delight to eat in a restaurant where the food is good, where what's on the menu ends up on a (warm) plate. Had the full Irish on three Sundays here and every week it got better. The bacon is tasty, the sausage and pudding well cooked and the eggs soft.........just like I order.
Sometimes I have to wait but its worth waiting for. The cakes look delicious but always too full after breakfast to try. Staff are so nice.
This restaurant could teach a master class to so many cafes about Dublin about how it should be done.
The menu is large and varied and sure to find something to indulge your senses. Enjoy, Enjoy, Enjoy

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Apple Cafe also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Black Apple Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Apple Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.