We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD FOOD, SERVICE, COFFEE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Apple Cafe

The Black Apple Cafe
208 Harold's Cross Road | Harold's Cross, Dublin, Ireland
353 1 497 8632
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,574 of 1,839 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, European, Café, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Description: New Cafe open in the heart of Harold's Cross, Dublin 6
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD, SERVICE, COFFEE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

cute little cafe in Harolds Cross.... i have been there for brunch/ lunch/food/coffee a few times and would recommend it! it can get very busy at lunch time so you may wait a while for food and coffee, but other than that its delicious unique fresh food, good service and perfect coffee!! its very hard to find a good cup of coffee these days and this is the place for it.... cappucino lover!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    10
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A great little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Ate brunch in this busy little cafe on a Saturday morning. We had excellent pancakes and eggs benedict. There was also some very good brown bread and a good big pot of tea. Service was excellent. If it's a warm day I'd recommend the small sunny outdoor area at the rear.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Really slow service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

my friend and i went here for the third and final time today. the service has always been slow - even if very friendly, which in this case isn't a trade off.

we were given menus and told to sit where we want. we sat at a free table outside in the back for a good 15 mins before anyone came to use. the waitress took our order after i called her over but didnt clear the table (it was dirty when we sat down and i normally wouldnt sit at a dirty table but... we were told to)

we sat there for another 15 mins before our drinks were brought out and even then, we had to remind a waitress. our sparkling water was flat. we sent it back.

50 mins later - yes 50, we got our food. my friend had eggs royale and i had a burger. it was a mess of a thing put on a napkin..so all the toppings leaking out of it were stuck to paper.


it was teeny tiny - the bun and all. easily one of the worst burgers i've had out.

we were planning to stay for coffee but got annoyed and left. the staff said sorry twice for the wait so they knew it was too much. the guy who came in and sat next to us, got his eggs less than 10 mins after ordering. and i mean we were waiting for 45 mins already, he came in, ordered and got his food. so im guessing the waitress forgot to put our order in - just as she forgot our drinks. we didnt tip.

wont go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cnestordublin, Owner at The Black Apple Cafe, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi there, I am so sorry to read your comments.I hate the thought of someone having such a bad experience in the cafe. We had a particularly busy weekend due to the warm weather however this does not excuse the service you received. The comment about the burgar was very disappointing as we usually get good feedback on them. Again I appologies about your experience. I will be looking into it with the staff. Thank you and sorry again, Sinead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous coffee, service with a smile.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Having lived in the area for over a decade, this little cafe is exactly what the area needed.
Fabulous fried breakfasts and cakes n the menu everyday.
Love going here !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The black apple is a lovely Dublin cafe for brunch at the weekend. The food is carefully prepared with tasty sauces and fresh ingredients.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinFitz, Owner at The Black Apple Cafe, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks a lot for your post. Glad you liked your brunch and hopefully see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Apple Cafe also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Black Apple Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Apple Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.