We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KC Peaches wine cave restaurant

KC Peaches wine cave restaurant
29/30 Nassau street, Dublin 2, Ireland
353-1 633 6872
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #604 of 1,831 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have been to the Wine Cave twice now, and both times have been pretty good, but the quality of the food has varied. On the first occasion I ordered off the a la carte menu and even though the dishes were meant to be 'tapas' sized, they were very generous and overall the quality of the food was very good. There is a wine list, and although not extensive, it's pretty good (I love the Argentinian Malbec in particular) and reasonably priced. More recently I was here on a Saturday night for the jazz band and that was lovely, but it was difficult to have conversation once the band started. We ordered off the Christmas set menu -I got the vegetarian option of Vegetable galette, but this time the main dish was slightly more disappointing. The puff pastry was extremely dry and I don't think the dish was good value for money (possibly to do with the fact that its part of a set menu, but I would expect the quality of the food to be as good as the a la carte). Overall, it is a lovely setting for a relaxed glass of wine, some nibbles/dinner, especially for a date, and I would give it a chance again. Of note, the staff were often hard to get hold of if something was needed, but overall they were friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Always guaranteed good food - and I like the buzz of the place too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Maybe I like supporting a fellow American in Dublin, or maybe I just like the fresh selection of food available. Whatever it is, KC Peaches on Nassau Street and Pearse Street have really struck a positive chord for me. Brunch on Pearse Street is fantastic. A taste of home away from home. The selection of hot and cold foods, as well as sandwiches and salads, can't be beat at the Nassau Street location. While lunchtime is chaotic there, as it is just across the street from Trinity and is a welcome place to students, it's still well worth it. They also manage the flow of people well by having different pay points and different areas to get food. And the staff are always incredibly helpful. I can't comment on the wine bar experience as I haven't been there at nighttime, but I bet it is a good spot to have a drink and nosh.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Good for coffee and cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The food buffet looked a bit disappointing to me and I came after hours for sandwich and soup. But the coffee is great and so are the cakes. Yum!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Good Food, Bad Bathrooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I went to KC Peaches recently and ate in the wine cave, which was really nice. The staff were friendly and gave us some of the lovely, lemony olives as a free little snack. Great bread, too.

I had the pea and mint risotto, which was really fresh and light. The accompanying wine was wonderful - a great recommendation from our waitress. All in all, a nice place for a casual night out, but be warned the menu is slightly confusing, as meals aren't labeled as starter or main course, so it's a bit hard to decipher what you're getting!

I have to say, though, that the restaurant was let down by its bathrooms. No toilet paper anywhere. This is a big restaurant with a lot of staff. Surely someone could keep an eye on the toilets? Bummer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KC Peaches wine cave restaurant also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to KC Peaches wine cave restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KC Peaches wine cave restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.