We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disorganized but excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beirut Express

Beirut Express
69 Dame Street, Dublin, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #892 of 1,947 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Lebanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Downers Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
“Disorganized but excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We dined at Beirut Express in May. Unfortunately, we arrived at shift change and break time so part of our order got "lost" in the shuffle. Three members of our party were almost done eating and we had still not received on entree. We asked our server many times what was going on. We finally had to speak to the owner / manager. He found the error and rectified it as soon as he could. He made up for the error with giving us some tea, hummus and dessert at no charge. Even with the issues with the service, the food was really good. Their falafal was the best I've had and the hummus was among the best i've had. I think lunchtime might be the best time to try Beirut Express, but do give it a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    40
    16
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Lebanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Great authentic Lebanese food , falafel is amazing and my mix grill was just cooked to perfection , been many time to Beirut express and always happy for what end up on my plate.I will definitely be back soon and recommend this place to everyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Lebanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Really enjoyable Lebanese food and at a great price. If you're in the area and like Lebanese food definitely try it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Buzzing and manic all at the same time...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Came here on a voucher deal. The waitresses were a little all over the shop, but very friendly and obliging all the same. The food came promptly, though we waited some time before our orders were taken. The food was okay - a step up from a kebab house, but tasty and nicely presented. The desserts were lovely. Worth a visit on the way to or from somewhere I'd say.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Definitely not "Express"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We went here on a Tuesday night before a gig in the Olympia theatre. We chose the restaurant because it's close to the theatre and we had read some good reviews. I had read they had pre-theatre options but that was not the case when we were there. We arrived at 6:30pm and our show was at 8 so we thought we would have plenty of time to enjoy our meal. We were a table of four. One of the waitresses explained she had only started that night which is fair enough and everyone has to start somewhere. However, we really struggled to get the waitresses to understand any of what we wanted to order. One friend wanted two starters instead of a main so what ended up happening was that they served these one at a time and the rest of us had to wait for our mains. We explained a number of times that we had to go to a show and could we please get our food but it was falling on deaf ears! We also struggled to have a simple bottle of wine and some glasses served to our table. Unfortunately I can't really review my food as it arrived 10 mins before the show so I just ate it as quickly as I possibly could. It seemed tasty enough (the vegetarian platter) but both my friends who ordered lamb were disappointed and thought it was overcooked. Unfortunately I can't recommend this restaurant and would not go back as there is so much choice in the area for places to go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beirut Express also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Beirut Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beirut Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.