We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively Local!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Little Jerusalem

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Little Jerusalem
3 Wynnefield Road | Rathmines, Dublin dublin 6, Ireland
01-4126912
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,156 of 1,916 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Lebanese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Lively Local!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is my favourite local restaurant, not necessarily because of the food which is a ok but primarily because of the buzz. It is a very lively and you can bring your own wine which is always an attraction. The restaurant itself is very cramped but it all lends itself to the atmosphere. The prices are very reasonable & it's a pity that we haven't more of these type restaurants in the area. It is a simple inexpensive middle Eastern cuisine. Corkage Free too. It is always busy which means that there is a market for this type of restaurant in Rathmines Area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    10
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Simple and attractive style. Reasonably prices, helped by the BYOB policy. However we went for the 9pm sitting on Saturday and it was uncomfortably crowded - it meant the staff were too focused on 'crowd control' and not on individuals. Food was ok but nothing special.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was my first visit. I loved the simplicity of the restaurant and also the fact you can bring your own wine/beer which made the night very inexpensive. There was 9 of us and the total bill came to Euro108 which was all main courses and two desserts of baklava. My meal of lamb, rice and chickpeas was really tasty. My sister and my Mom's meals were very unsatisfactory. To be honest I am not sure what they ordered but it was a chicken dish and they got chicken legs with rice and said it was just ok. I totally agree with the previous writer who commented on the Baklava, three pathetic portions on a plate for Euro4.25 was a total rip off. We had a very enjoyable night and I loved the Middle Eastern music in the background. I think the restaurant has great potential and could be a little Middle Eastern jewel if they paid attention to detail.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Standards slipping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was my third visit and I went with some friends having told them how great the place was. Unfortunately, this was a bad night as the food and standards have dipped dramatically. Simple things like cold plates, cold food, cold salads on the same plates as supposedly hot main courses added up to a disappointing experience. In addition, we brought our own beer and the bill came to €93 for 3 people - very bad value.
There is an extensive selection on the menu and the in-house bread is great so it is a terrible pity that the management don't pay attention to the basic things that matter - like well presented food and good value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Google food but WAY OVERPRICED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We waited for a few days to get a table as this place is small and popular. You can bring your own alcohol and pay 2€ corking charge which is superb.

I have a ton of experience with Middle Eastern food so I can honestly say the food here is really not that bad, even quite good. The problem is that it's way overpriced, especially considering the portions you get and the cost of ingredients which are known to be very cheap (chickpeas, chicken, tomato, onion etc.). They are making crazy margins and people are actually paying.

For starters we had the Babaganoush (€6.10) which was a really small bowl, quite tasty but so small. We also had the Falafel which at €6.10 which just a ripoff. It was tasty and all but the plate had a spoonful of hummus and just 2 average sized falafel balls. That is 3.05€ per falafel, unheard of.

For the main courses we had a selection of lamb and chicken skewers that were served with a simple salad which claimed to be a Palestinian salad though that is suppose to be finely chopped and served with parsley/mint, which this wasn't.

All meals are served with naan bread, not sure why they cannot make pitas here or at least call the naan bread Laffa, which is exactly what it is.

For dessert we had Arabic coffee which was very good but then got ripped off again with the Baklava. At 4.25€, you'de expect to get something in return but not here. We received a tiny plate which 3 mini Baklavas, which were totally dry.

So overall, a disappointing experience experience for a restaurant we heard so much about.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Jerusalem also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Little Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Jerusalem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.