We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food is lackluster” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Grafton Lounge

The Grafton Lounge
Duke Lane | Just off Grafton Street, Dublin, Ireland
016796260
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #303 of 1,883 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Dublin's best late bar!
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“food is lackluster”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012


my friend and i went in here since the menu outside looked yummy. we sat down for a few minutes and the barmen talked amongst themselves until my friend got up and asked for a menu.

she ended up going for chicken breast with a salad and i had the smoked salmon and spinach wrap with salad. hers looked really nice and she said the chicken was tender. mine looked 'cute' and could maybe feed a child. i should have known better since it was 6 euro but we actually both left still hungry.

nice atmosphere location and decor but i was starving and this didnt do it for me. i dont feel the need to return.

plus, i expected the 'smoked' salmon to be drier....this had more like a sushi vibe.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Do not attempt to visit the Grafton Lounge if you are in excess of 30 years of age.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a risible establishment. I am a middle aged professional woman and was refused entry on a Saturday evening whilst large groups of younger people were immediately admitted. When I complained, the doormen accused me of being "drunk" which caused me to look for the manager. When he arrived, he retracted that statement but said I still could not gain access as there had been "confrontation". This bar clearly operates an ageist door policy and I could not recommend it to anyone.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Grafton Lounge, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
The Grafton Lounge does not operate a maximum age limit, we have a minimum age limit of over 21 and our typical customer demographic is 27+.

We operate a fair door policy and we strongly adhere to the Intoxicating Liquor Act 2003.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful pub/restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This pub/restaurant is recently renovated and it is beautiful, they now serve breakfast and other food until seven pm. Their breakfast is beautiful and it is a big meal. The decor is beautiful I would like to know who chose the colours.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Food ok, severly lacks in atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

the food at the Grafton Lounge is ok, a bit posher than pub grub, but with the same general taste. Maybe we were there on a quiet Saturday but there was zero atmosphere and the staff we not to out out to make us feel welcome. May be a different story at night time or when busy, but really should cater better for those just popping in after an afternoon shopping!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grafton Lounge also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Grafton Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grafton Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.