We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Cagliostro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Caffe Cagliostro
Bloom's Lane | 24 Ormond Quay Lower, Dublin, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #907 of 1,886 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Description: http://www.yelp.co.uk/biz/caffe-cagliostro-dublin
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.yelp.co.uk/biz/caffe-cagliostro-dublin
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves to coffee and cake on a girly day out and really liked the look of Cagliostro. At first glance it seemed like good value for money. I thought that my cake wasn't as moist/ fresh as it should be but it was my friend who pointed out mould on the bottom of my cake. I brought it to the attention of the staff who in fairness were mortified and offered me other cake which I naturally declined. I was refunded my money paid for both the cake and tea. But the experience left a bad taste and my friends were put off their food. In fairness to waiting staff it wasn't their fault but measures need to be taken by someone to prevent that happening again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“On the Coffee Trail to D7”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I’ve taken to walking to work and have made it my business to stop for a coffee before the daily grind.
From D8 to D7, I have stopped off at different establishments, and have duly noticed the coffee, staff and price, on your behalf. And with prices ranging from €2.20 to €3.50 you can pay way more beans for your beans within a half a mile radius.

First Day: Queen of Tarts, Cow’s Lane, Dublin 8
Price:€2.60.
Coffee: Good and strong.
Staff: Somewhat aloof.
Second Day: The Bakery, Essex Street, off Cow’s Lane, D8
Price: €2.50.
Coffee: Very middle of the road, though pastries look yummy and staff are not afraid to say, ‘hello’.
Third Day: Stage Door Café, Templebar, D8
Price: Over 3 quid for a hospital white coffee in an oul doll’s cup. Quaint if the coffee stood up but it was so weak I feared for its well being. The stiff waitress spraying industrial cleaning stuff on tables that would threaten pre-Kyoto levels, didn’t help in the down wind.
Fourth Day: La Corte & Bar Italia, Woodquay.
Price: €2.60
Coffee: I asked for a latte which was lovely but get it extra hot if you have an asbestos mouth like me.
Staff. An older guy who continued to look at me strangely. Because I was sitting outside, I think he was watching me in case I ran off without paying. Will not go back as he’d win in a staring competition.
And on the Fifth & Sixth day: Caffe Cagliostro, The Italian Quarter, Bloom's Lane, 24 Ormond Quay Lower.
I’m going to skip to the staff first. Wonderful, genuinely warm , courteous and a pleasure, especially when you’re trying to come to your senses, first thing. In short, they show up the rest and should be sent round to the other places to give courses on how hospitality is really done.
Coffee: The real Italian Job.
Price: €2.20, the cheapest and the best with ‘please’ and ‘thank you’ and ‘it’s a pleasure’ thrown in for good measure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“horrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Small italian, in the italian quarter, Appalling service rude staff, 40 minutes no food had to walk out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Horrific is an understatement. Worst experience of customer service ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I went there today with a work colleague at lunch time. The lady I was with ordered inside and we took our seats outside. 10 minutes a waiter arrived to "take our order". I explained that it was already taken but gave him the order again politely. Another 10 minutes passes when another male waiter came to take our order again for the 3rd time. I explained again that we ordered twice and he shrugged his shoulders saying they had no order. I went into the cafe and asked the waiter who took our 2nd order if it was on the way. I got a sharp 'NO' as a response. I asked why and he said they had no order. I asked to see the manager who wasn't there. So I asked for the female staff for her number. As she was about to write it down the male staff started laughing and told her to give me a certain number that happened NOT to even be the manager or assistant manager but a supervisior friend who wasn't pleasant to deal with on the phone either. She eventually gave me the managers number. She did phone me back and told me that She would follow up with the staff on duty. I have myself eaten In many establishments in that area and even on the same street. I would never return even though I was offered by the manager to be looked after if I did. There is plenty of reputable establishments on the same street as this and it should be avoided at all costs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great value friendly Italian cafe in the heart of Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Caffe Cagliostro is a small atmospheric Italian cafe/restaurant situated a minute away from the Ha'Penny Bridge in the centre of Dublin. The food offered is mainly panini, pizza, soup and similar as well as a great selection of cakes & dessert - and of course a wide variety of coffee (and everything else) made the Italian (tasty) way. The staff are warm and friendl. The clientele cosmopolitan and talkative. The atmosphere warm and talkative. The food tasty. The prices - great value. The location - dead central. There isn't really much more that you could want!
A great place to drop in for lunch, tea, a snack - any excuse!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Cagliostro also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Caffe Cagliostro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Cagliostro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.