We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jigs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jig, the Story of Irish Dance

Jig, the Story of Irish Dance
Powerscourt Theatre, Clarendon Street, | Clarendon Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
00353 1 6111060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 613 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jig is a spectacular, high energy Irish Dance Show that showcases the best of traditional and contemporary Irish Dance. Jig introduces the audiences to the history of Irish dance and the many different steps, styles and dances that our part of our rich dance heritage. This live, multi-media show runs throughout the year in Powerscourt Theatre just minutes from Grafton Street in the heart of Dublin City and is a must see for anyone who has an interest in an authentic culture experience. Our world class professional dancers are guaranteed to impress. Suitable for all ages. Hop Up is our INTERACTIVE show for all those that want to Hop Up , learn to dance and have some fun. This Irish Dance experience opens with an impressive performance by our world class dancers who then invite the audience to take to the floor and learn some Irish Dancing. Fantastic entertainment for families, friends and corporate events. Suitable for all ages. Hop Up runs throughout the year in the Powerscourt Theatre just minutes from Grafton Street in the heart of Dublin City. All tickets include entry to the Irish Dance Museum which houses a collection of dresses, photos and other dance memorabilia.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Jigs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great time at Story of Irish dance. Go with a group or with a partner and take in the early show to learn a few jigs. Evening show is more low key and very informative.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    16
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“energetic,entertaining first rate show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

thought it was pricey when we bought the tickets, but changed my mind as soon as the dancers started. Tucked away and not really obvious, so glad we stumbled on to this little gem of a museum. Four amazing dancers with all the steps so fast you can hardly see them. This show was definitely one of the highlights of our visit to Dublin.
Only drawback: With sensitive ears, I usually carry earplugs but did not have them with me and needed them for the percussive sound from the dancing shoes.
Do hope the word gets out to give this Irish dancing history group the support they so richly deserve

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta , georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Interesting experience. Good show with talented dancers. Not too long; only an hour long. Would go again. Good PowerPoint and music show to go along with the dancing. Easy location to walk to in the Centre area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant dancing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Good combination of live dancing and old photos and video clips with a high standard of dancing. The historical aspect of it could have been more emphasised though.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Jig - Irish Dance Exhibition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was a good introduction to Irish step dancing. Had a nice multimedia component. The reason I didn't give it a 5 was because they didn't have live music, it was all prerecorded and I think to tell the story/history of Irish step dance you need a couple of musicians.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jig, the Story of Irish Dance also viewed

 

Been to Jig, the Story of Irish Dance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jig, the Story of Irish Dance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.