We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bite sized” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bite

Bite
21 South Richmond Street | Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland
(01) 4757553
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #314 of 1,797 restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bite sized”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I just didn't like this place ....the decor, the dining rooms, the toilets. This venue does not lend itself to a hip restaurant. It looks like a coffee shop from circa 1998. It is awkward and just plain wrong.
My worst gripe is that my friend's main course of monkfish was swimming in this very thin,watery sauce. When we complained (well, I did, as my friend is too polite) the waiter said the chef was happy with it. However the people beside us had the same dish but theirs wasn't watery. I am sick of waiters or chefs contesting the customer! what happened to the customer is always right??
At the end of the meal, I had a long conversation with the waiter about the said watery sauce. I made the point that it wasn't 'bisque' like, as he suggested, it was 'water' like and even I know that if I was a chef, I would have just reduced it down more. There is no defence, as it isn't even uniform 'watery', note my previous comment about the table beside us. So, at the end of that, there was no apolgies from the staff, no 'would you like a drink on the house'. Nada. The service was extremely poor and they weren't that busy. The table beside us was served our food before we corrected the waiter, our table took forever to be cleared between courses. I for one, am not interested in going back......

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    67
    33
    20
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A cozy restaurant nestled in the ground floor of Trinity Lodge, specializing in fish. The food and service were both very good and reservations are highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Lunched with friends recently. Menu reads well. Soft shell crab was tasty, could be cooked in a lighter batter though. Fish finger wrap with skinny fries was exactly that. A side of roasted beets would have been much better received if they weren't ice cold. Service was hit and miss. Pricing is reasonable. Maybe dinner is a better bet.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bites was Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Make sure to get a reservation BEFORE you plan to dine. This is a fantastic restaurant that features a delicious menu, terrific service and a funky ambiance. I highly recommend it if you want something off the beaten path.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I went to bite last night with one of my friends. When we arrived we were shown to our table and left left to wait, for I'm not joking, nearly 20 minutes before anyone came near us to take any order, even to take a drink order or offer water. We were not in a rush and could have passed the time sipping on one of their signature Cocktails but as there was no service that's a moot point.

Once the food arrived it was lovely, good value and high quality.

All would have been forgiven if only, because of the great food, and this pains me, if only, when my friend who kindly was paying and complained about the service hadn't been dismissed so nonchalantly by who I believe was the manager that night.

That is unforgivable. So so much as the food was great the staff treatment of the service criticism was so poor I won't be returning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bite also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Bite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.