We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ouzos Bar & Grill

Ouzos Bar & Grill
39 Main Street, Dublin, Ireland
+353 1 210 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #367 of 1,822 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Castlebar, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

A pleasant and well run establishment which had good service and very good food. The wine was well served and on time. The menu choice was interesting for a couple who like a different menu.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“No ouzo but excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Despite its name this is not a Greek Restaurant. It has a short but excellent menu and the food is top class. Seafood is particularly fresh.
The staff are very pleasant which adds to the experience. Seating is ok but a bit uncomfortable if you linger too long.
Definitely worth a visit

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youghal, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great food, charming service & super value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Visited Ouzos with my Grandfather, early on a Thursday evening. We were first to arrive and were served quickly and with plenty of charm. My Grandfather loves to tease waiting staff and not everyone knows how to handle him, but both waitresses rose to the challenge and gave as good as they got, while also being utterly professional and lovely. We both had fish & chips as a main, I started with the chicken liver pate (or was it a parfait? Whatever it was, it was divine) and Grandad had a caesar salad. Both very happy, with full bellies by the end of our meal. Early birds for €22 were great value and the quality of the food was excellent. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We found ourselves in Blackrock at lunchtime on a Friday and decided to try Ouzo. We were greeted by a warm friendly waiter and his initial tone echoed pleasantly throughout our lunch. Which goes to show that the Irish can make great waiting staff, provided they take their jobs seriously and with enthusiasm. Onto the food - we shared some salt and pepper Calamari to start and it was hard to fault. For mains we had a fish and chips and a lobster and crab claws salad. Fresh food well presented - full marks. The only negative I had was when I asked if French Fried Onions were available (de rigeur with fish and chips IMHO) the waiter said he'd bring crisp fried onions which, unfortunately, bore no resemblance to french fried onions. Still, the sun was shining outside and I wasn't letting this hiccup spoil an otherwise lovely lunch. We'll certainly be back when next in Blackrock and well done to the waiter who served us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best family restaurant in Blackrock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We have enjoyed regularly eating as a family in Ouzos since it opened a few years ago. The food and service at such great value keep us coming back for more. My favourite is the surf & turf. Excellent early bird specials with a good number of options from which to choose.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ouzos Bar & Grill also viewed

Dalkey, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Ouzos Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ouzos Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.