We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect (ly overpriced) and far out.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Northwood Park Santry Demesne, Dublin 0000, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #41 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
New York City
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect (ly overpriced) and far out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

Clean, well run, staff is generally friendly (can be hassled and a little short with large influxes of conferees and groups going to the nearby sporting events). Otherwise a mixed bag of the good and not quite so good: modern appointments (after four nights I still didn't know all the features on the room's telephone) but no flat-screen tv; temperature control on shower; quite and responsive wall thermostat; separate bathtub from shower stall. Good wifi and free; but then the place can be strangely penny-pinching: $4.75 for a can of Coke from the mini-bars (with no vending machines in the hotel) --also be careful, sensor controlled, you might be mistakenly charged, I was, plus the mini-fridge is set up so as to be unusable for your own items); 2 euro access charge for an outside line even if you are calling a toll-free number. No ATM machine. Rooms are quite expensive considering the hotel is too far from downtown to be considered by tourists (15 to 20 euro one-way taxi fare; 35 or more minutes one way by bus). Place seems gear just for business conferences and group outings to the sports events, with close proximity (2km) to the airport and free shuttle service. The sister Holiday Inn Express is attached via a conference center, i.e., exactly in the same location. Can't comment on the Holiday Inn side, didn't stay there. But with the famous stadium in the neighborhood, the dual hotel setup gives fans an option on price.

Just a fine, almost elegant, hotel for business purposes, events, or overnighting by Dublin Airport. But too expensive to recommend and out of the loop for visiting Dublin city.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    279
    91
    33
    11
See reviews for
107
226
62
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, MD
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

We stayed here the night before our morning flight back to the States - the room was very comfortable and immaculate - we could really stretch out and relax - there is a beautiful park just across the road where you can walk - the restaurants are very good - service is great, food is tasty - and we got a great night's sleep because the place is quite quiet - it was just a great way to prepare for the long journey home.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

I have just stayed at The Crowne Plaza for 2 nights, the bedroom was comfortable but a bit crowded with furniture. The breakfast was €30 for 2 people. The containers were mostly empty and the bacon/sausage/egg that was there was cold. The toast is self service but there was no bread, the waitress went to get some and by the time she got back the food was even more cold. No Native Irish serving in any part of the hotel which seems a pity. There is a recession on and even though I thought the rate of €79 euros for the room very good value the breakfast and the bar prices are exhorbitantwhich rather spoiled my experience. Management please take note......

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

This was easily the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. The room was 99euro for the night, and then you are being charged for EVERYTHING else on top of that, even to listen to music on the tv. We had to jam a piece of cardboard into the electricity slot, as it keept switching off, we asked three times for something to be sent to our room, and each time it was the wrong thing, Then they just gave up and never responded to us, we had to go down to reception and get it ourselves. The next morning, they only brought one breakfast, which had nothing that we asked for on it. Then they brought two more, with no cutlery, which meant that it was cold by the time they got back to us. Lots of stuff like this happened, and we were only there for one night .However, my main issue was that when i contacted the hotel to inform them of this, the people who deals with complaints, Karen Wragg and Hayley Collins, tried to offer me a $30, (€20) voucher. I pointed out that this wouldn't even cover the breakfast that we had to go buy when we left, they said that they felt that they had done enough to try and fix the problem. I was absolutely disgusted, as I work in a hotel myself ,and if ANYONE had a complaint similar to ours, the hotel would try a lot harder to make up for it. Don't stay here, you are basically a number to these people, nothing more.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

10/19/09 - Planning a trip to Ireland in May 2010, yes 7 months in advance. Made online reservations but didn't read the "fine print" about cancellation. As a result in the change of our financial situation, I had to cancel our reservation on 11/02/09. Rec'd email stating that the hotel had charged my credit card and that they had a "no cancellation policy". I will not stay at ANY of Crowne Plaza, Holiday Inn or any of the associated hotels. I lost 90 Euros when I could least afford it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

close to airport and nice stay--rooms comfortable and good size. I wouldn't stay here as a primary location to see Dublin unless you have a car, but great place to stay when you land and/or exit the city.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We were "upgraded" from the sister property, the Holiday Inn Express, and we were told it was due to me being a member. Regarding the holiday inn, which I had researched on Trip Advisor, and knew was perfect for our needs. We were a party of two that just needed a quiet place to crash near the airport for our early flight back to Los Angeles the next morning. Let me tell you, the Holiday Inn Express is 100 times better, and if they offer you an upgrade to Crowne Plaza, please do try to decline.

Lobby/Atmosphere: 3 loud parties in all restaurants, spilling out into the lobby on the night of Saturday, October 10. We were placed on the second (first floor) #147. We had booked a non-smoking It had ash trays in the room and reeked of smoke. I called down that I had allergies and would get sick from staying there, but they said there was nothing that could be done. The floors were stained in the hallway, although the room was relatively clean. The elevators reeked like a perfume store.

Dining/Food: Went to scout out a vending machine to just get some chips and water to hold over for the morning but couldn't find any. We went to ask at the front desk, but no one was there. We were told there was no availability at the restaurants due to the parties and crowds. We looked for a room service menu in our room, just to see the options, but although we could find a page in the "info" book telling us it was available, we didn't have a menu. We tried to use our phone by pressing 0 to talk to the front desk, but no one answered.
We gave up at this point and walked across to the Holiday Inn and availed ourselves of their vending machines. Their lobby was stone quiet. The clientele was older and relaxed. I wished every moment that we hadn't been "upgraded"

The people, cleanliness, and pricing at the Crowne Plaza is sub par to the cheaper location of the holiday inn express next door. I would never stay here again, and in honesty it has soured my opinion of the Crowne Plaza brand in general.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood

Address: Northwood Park Santry Demesne, Dublin 0000, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Dublin
#32 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Family Hotel in Dublin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the mature 85 acre woodlands of Northwood Park, minutes from Dublin Airport with our complimentary airport shuttle and a short distance to Dublin City Centre; the award winning Crowne Plaza Dublin Northwood provides the peaceful atmosphere for business and leisure guests to unwind, yet still have all the required business facilities at your fingertips! Conveniently located minutes away from GAA ground Croke Park, as well as nearby Guinness Brewery, Trinity College and International Financial Services Centre (IFSC), Crowne Plaza Dublin Northwood is the ideal location for all your accommodation needs without the busy city centre location. Our warm contemporary event space has the magnificent Redwood Suite for up to 1000 guests and an additional 22 meeting rooms many with wonderful views of Northwood Park. With a passionate team and an impeccable service culture; we ensure that our guests enjoy a truly authentic yet unique experience at Crowne Plaza Dublin Northwood. The design and décor of our 204 guestrooms and Suites is of the highest standard and guarantees you a relaxing stay. Air-conditioning, 24-hour room service, free in-room high speed internet access, pay movies and music on demand as well as wireless internet throughout are just a selection of what you can expect when you choose to spend a night with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Dublin
Dublin Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.