We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good service, checkout took significantly longer than normal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com IHG
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Northwood Park Santry Demesne, Dublin 0000, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #47 of 178 hotels in Dublin
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Clean, good service, checkout took significantly longer than normal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed one night here on business. Check-in was efficient and courteous. The room was a bit cramped, but elegant. Tried the hotel restaurant for dinner and breakfast, great service, the food was delicious. Check-out took awhile, both as a result of waiting in line and slow service. Nonetheless, I would stay here again for a short trip on business.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the great feedback, on many aspects of our hotel and Team.

I have communicated your feedback to the Team here and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Dublin-Northwood again soon!

Kind regards,

Pius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    234
    75
    28
    9
See reviews for
84
191
52
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Klagenfurt
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you want to stay in the city center of Dublin you can either stay in a stripped down, sometimes cold and mostly very small hotel room, or spend a fortune for the luxury hotels. If a 25 minute bus ride for € 1.80 one way is no problem however, this hotel is a very good choice. It features specious rooms, a so-so fitness center and all the other amenities you expect from a Crowne Plaza. Breakfast is quite expensive but definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the great feedback, and indeed strong recommendation !

Naturally, we agree, we are a good choice for all comfortable with a short commute to the city centre and feel the gain is more than evident.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Dublin-Northwood again soon!

Kind regards,

Pius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

i have stayed here on 4 different occasions. Each time we were greeted with friendliness and the impression that the staff were eager to assist in any way possible. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. An executive room is plush and very comfortable.some rooms have lovely views over the nearby mature trees. a huge plus for my wife is the proximity of Ikea, only a few hundred meters away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the great feedback, on so many aspects of our hotel and Team and indeed based on regular stays with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Dublin-Northwood again soon, for your fifth stay!

Kind regards,

Pius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

i have just returned from dublin where i stayed at the holiday inn crowne plaza santry this is probably the tenth time we have done a trade show from the hotel conferencing area and all i can say is the staff are fantastic by far the most attentive staff i have ever been in contact with absolutely perfect nothing is too much trouble for them the hotel is in immaculate condition and spotless everything is so organised even down to being collected at the airport by the courtesy bus breakfast choice is very good i strongly reccommend this hotel to anyone wether its business or pleasure i definately will use this hotel again even if it is a little out of my way because you are made to feel very much at home

Room Tip: all rooms are good especially if you get an upgrade to the club floor where the club lounge is
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic feedback on out hotel and in particular such high praise for our Team. Many thanks also for such a strong recommendation !

I have communicated your feedback to the Team here, who were equally delighted to receive such high praise.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Dublin-Northwood again soon!

Kind regards,

Pius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Close to airport, quiet location, contemporary design and comfortable beds. Bathrooms a little worn. Breakfast not recommendable however lunch and evening menue at the very inviting bar are very good. Gym is not worth mentioning

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the constructive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Dublin-Northwood again soon!

Kind regards,

Pius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had an early morning flight out of the Dublin Airport at the end of my trip, so I decided to book a hotel room at the Crowne Plaza since it was near the airport and had a complimentary shuttle.

The shuttle runs about every half hour between 5am to 1am, which was perfect for for my 7:45am flight. Finding the shuttle was a bit complicated as you had to go out of the terminal, through the parking garage, across the parking lot, and around a church. There are directions on the website and a map, so as long as those are handy, finding the bus shouldn't be too much of a hassle.

Check in was very easy and the staff was courteous and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. I was happy to see some North American plugs for my gadgets (goodness knows converters are only good for so much).

The lights are turned on by placing the key card in a slot by the door. The only bad thing is that they don't seem to want to stay on. I spent a majority of my night running back and forth turning the lights back on. I've never had this problem before, so maybe it was faulty? Thankfully I was planning on spending the majority of my time sleeping, so it didn't put me out too much.

Overall, the hotel is nice, the staff is pleasant, and the rooms are clean and spacious. If one needs a place to stay to catch as early flight, I would definitely recommend the Crown Plaza Northwood.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic feedback on so many aspects of our hotel and Team.

It is always great to receive such strong recommendation !

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Dublin-Northwood again soon!

Kind regards,

Pius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, Reading
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I travel fairly frequently to Dublin for work and had stayed at other hotels before, without being impressed. This hotel was pretty much faultless - a really nice surprise for an international brand hotel (brands often have quite varying standards).

I stayed mid-week, for just one night and 3 of us ate in the restaurant. We only had main course and drinks but were given fresh, warm bread (really good) and complimentary soup. The food was fresh, good sized portions and tasty, and the service was even better, with the waitress having just the right amount of familiarity/humour to make us feel welcomed and comfortable, without her intruding into our space.

My bedroom (303) was a good size, clean and comfortable, with a great walk-in shower.

Free WiFi is a real bonus that gives hotels a competitive edge.

But why are hotels so poor at lighting bedrooms and bathrooms????? Soooo annoying. There was an iron, safe, independent heating/air con and even a window that opened (so many windows don't open in hotels).

Unfortunately, a resident tried to demolish the room next to mine (i think) in the middle of the night, in a drunken stupor, which disturbed my sleep and this continued for some time, until the management/Garda (?) dealt with him. Clearly this isn't a regular 'feature' for the hotel and I was just unlucky (but not as unlucky as the man's girlfriend!).

The hotel price was reasonable and food, as always in Ireland, was a little expensive.

Check out was quick and by a courteous reception team.

I will definatley stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pius F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for such fantastic feedback, delighted to receive same, particularly from a frequent traveler!

It is always great to receive such strong recommendation !

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Dublin-Northwood again soon!

Kind regards,

Pius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Dublin
Dublin Crowne Plaza
Address: Northwood Park Santry Demesne, Dublin 0000, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#36 Business Hotel in Dublin
#37 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#51 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the mature 85 acre woodlands of Northwood Park, minutes from Dublin Airport with our complimentary airport shuttle and a short distance to Dublin City Centre; the award winning Crowne Plaza Dublin Northwood provides the peaceful atmosphere for business and leisure guests to unwind, yet still have all the required business facilities at your fingertips! Conveniently located minutes away from GAA ground Croke Park, as well as nearby Guinness Brewery, Trinity College and International Financial Services Centre (IFSC), Crowne Plaza Dublin Northwood is the ideal location for all your accommodation needs without the busy city centre location. Our warm contemporary event space has the magnificent Redwood Suite for up to 1000 guests and an additional 22 meeting rooms many with wonderful views of Northwood Park. With a passionate team and an impeccable service culture; we ensure that our guests enjoy a truly authentic yet unique experience at Crowne Plaza Dublin Northwood. The design and décor of our 204 guestrooms and Suites is of the highest standard and guarantees you a relaxing stay. Air-conditioning, 24-hour room service, free in-room high speed internet access, pay movies and music on demand as well as wireless internet throughout are just a selection of what you can expect when you choose to spend a night with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin-Northwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.