We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to find and not worth the effort.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grafton Capital Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grafton Capital Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grafton Capital Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Stephens Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Difficult to find and not worth the effort.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We usually stay at Trinity Capital on Pearse street and I've always seen the two hotels linked in name,.. thinking they are sister hotels. In reality they are nothing alike. There is an American Western theme running throughout the hotel and I found it confusing. I didn't go to Ireland to see western themes, I can stay home for that.
This was difficult to find and took us an hour. We visit twice a year and are familiar with the city so this isn't the case of a lost tourist. The hotel could use some updating and the street noise is ridiculous. We had a choice of open windows (no fan or air) and people partying or a warm stuffy room. Not certain this is a great location for a hotel. Perhaps if you arr planning a hen party and shoppimg, then yes.

Room Tip: Parking nearby, but a terrible location by map or GPS directions. Perhaps better signage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    209
    144
    86
    48
See reviews for
53
198
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights it was good value for money good location hotel is clean but a bit dated did not have the breakfast . Hotel reception were pleasant enough overall worth the money .compared with the prices for some hotels in Dublin

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for anyone who wants to explore central Dublin - only a few steps from Grafton Street. It has a lovely surprising private courtyard entrance. The rooms were clean and comfortable with hair dryer, iron and tea/coffee. I stayed mid week so did not experience the night club noise that others have commented on. I was particularly impressed with the breakfast offering for only 9.95. Extremely good value. For a city centre hotel it is great value overall. Do book it via trip advisor or other on line site however as booking directly with the hotel is actually more expensive. (I was surprised that they could not match the rate quoted on line).
I was disappointed the didn't have a bar as I would have enjoyed sitting in the courtyard sipping a drink in the evening. However I will definitely return next time I stay in the city simply because of its good price and its great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

As we approached the hotel we couldn't believe how central it was. The rooms are clean spacious but a bit dated. The breakfast was buffet style and very good.
As for value we won the stay in a competition.
Would I stay there again probably not unless i got a cheap deal as there are cheaper better value hotels in dublin

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Overall, the Grafton had a great location in Temple Bar. Our room was very nice too. However, our window faced a bar that played pretty loud music until late. But that's not the worst of it! One night, actually about 2:00 a.m. someone tried to enter our room and the key they used actually opened our door! Luckily I had put the chain on the door. It gets better, the clerk told us it was impossible and acted like he didn't believe what we told him! They re-keyed the room the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We are fussy but the hotel was clean and well maintained. Wonderful location. We had reservations for two nights but extended for two more nights. You will not be disappointed.
I must comment on the front desk. Just wonderful and helpful. Samonther and Lucie were so helpful and friendly. - They deserve a raise! We stayed at Grafton from May 11 through May
15, 2013. Marvin Merrill, Florida

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed one night in grafton capital very good value and great location and you can park near car park with discounted rates room was nice and clean breakfast was very good as well helpfully staff overall nice hotel will be back again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grafton Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Capital Hotel

Address: Lower Stephens Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Capital Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton Capital Hotel is a traditional Georgian townhouse which offers spacious accommodation and a warm ambiance. Located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, paces away from Grafton Street, entertainment & cultural attractions; it is the perfect tourist choice. Each room in the Grafton Capital Hotel is spacious and elegantly designed. Decorated in rich traditional Georgian colours, each room provides guests with tea & coffee trays, ironing facilities, hairdryer, TV, power shower and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Grafton Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Capital Dublin
Hotel Grafton Capital

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grafton Capital Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.