We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think you're old?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Ireland - Archaeology

National Museum of Ireland - Archaeology
Kildare Street, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 6777444
Website
Improve this listing
Visit National Museum of Ireland - Archaeology like an insider
Top Rated
$68*
and up
The Dublin Pass
Ranked #14 of 615 things to do in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The National Museum of Ireland - Archaeology is the national repository for all archaeological objects found in Ireland and home to over two million artefacts. Permanent Exhibitions: Our exhibitions include the finest collection of prehistoric gold artefacts in western Europe, outstanding examples of metalwork from the Celtic Iron Age and the Museum’s world-renowned collection of medieval ecclesiastical objects and jewellery. The Treasury: Ór - Ireland's Gold, Prehistoric Ireland, Kingship and Sacrifice, Viking Ireland, Medieval Ireland, Ancient Egypt, Ceramics and Glass from Ancient Cyprus, Life and Death in the Roman World. There is also a number of Temporary Exhibitions taking place.
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Think you're old?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Definitely worth a stop here. Free entry is hard to come by with a lot of the tourist areas in Dublin, so it is totally worth it. Lots of amazing artifacts dating back several thousand years before Christ. It really opens your mind and makes you think. The Bog people exhibit was what we went there for - 8,000 year old bodies preserved nearly perfectly in Ireland's peat bogs were fascinating!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,248
    587
    116
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great intro to the history of the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

An older style museum, the halls were packed with significant artifacts spanning the history of people in Ireland. The biggest draw for me was the bog people and the information that is available about the individuals based on the scientific research. Can't be beat with free admission.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM I, Digital Marketing Executive at National Museum of Ireland - Archaeology, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed the Kingship & Sacrifice (bog bodies) exhibition, especially the science! Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Decorative Arts Plus a Lot of History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Take the modern LUAS tram from center city to the Michael Collins Barracks (itself a piece of Irish history). This free museum has many rooms of very high level displays-- Irish room design and furnishings, Irtish silver, etc., as well as a vivid section on Irish military history including the 1916 Rising and the civil war. Well worth the trip for anyone interested in a deeper view of this fascinating nation and culture.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Not something i take particular interest in but my boyfriend dragged me along, there was loads of interesting displays although some had interactive devices which didn't work.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A must when in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

There are a few Museums in Dublin and this is one of my favorites its has many floors full of interesting histories. There are many artifacts on display from many periods of history.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Ireland - Archaeology also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Ireland - Archaeology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Ireland - Archaeology, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.