We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rich in History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Ireland - Archaeology

National Museum of Ireland - Archaeology
Kildare Street, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 6777444
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$37*
and up
Dublin Freedom Pass: Transport and Sightseeing
Ranked #15 of 401 things to do in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The National Museum of Ireland - Archaeology is the national repository for all archaeological objects found in Ireland and home to over two million artefacts. Permanent Exhibitions: Our exhibitions include the finest collection of prehistoric gold artefacts in western Europe, outstanding examples of metalwork from the Celtic Iron Age and the Museum’s world-renowned collection of medieval ecclesiastical objects and jewellery. The Treasury: Ór - Ireland's Gold, Prehistoric Ireland, Kingship and Sacrifice, Viking Ireland, Medieval Ireland, Ancient Egypt, Ceramics and Glass from Ancient Cyprus, Life and Death in the Roman World. There is also a number of Temporary Exhibitions taking place.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rich in History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This museum is a must visit place. I have read about a lot of the items that are displayed in this museum, nothing can take the place of actually seeing them right there in front of you. Plan on long visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RADAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Museum is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a great place to get a flavor of the history of Ireland. Just the right size so that it doesn't overwhelm you.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bog Bodies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had read about the 'Bog Bodies' on display at this museum. We had seen advertising for this exhibit which showed the full head & torso of one of these unfortunate souls and were intrigued with the possibility of looking into the face of someone who had lived so very long ago. We were surprised to find when we visited the Museum that the bog person used in much of the advertising was not on display in this museum but in a museum in Denmark. The museum does contain several peices of bog people, which is interesting in & of itself, but not the particular one we'd hoped to see and none which have a fully intact head & face.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Top quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Museum entry is free and it is laid out excellent! You could pass many hours in here, there is loads to see and it's completely free!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hihihhihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“This is a DO NOT MISS in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We enjoyed this museum immensely. We learned so much about Ireland of which we didn't know much. Wonderful exhibits and great location. They have a short film which is very informative as well. DO NOT MISS this is you are interested in learning more about Ireland's history. It was one of our favorite parts of our visit to Dublin

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM I, Social Media Executive at National Museum of Ireland - Archaeology, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time out to write such a glowing report, and are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Ireland - Archaeology also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Ireland - Archaeology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing