We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal I've ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenhouse

The Greenhouse
Dawson St, Dublin, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 1,830 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best meal I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I went here with my boyfriend for dinner mid week. We had the surprise tasting menu with the matching wines- it was absolutely amazing. Each course was full of flavor and the dishes were beautifully presented. The wines were really well paired and the sommelier was very knowledgable and so friendly. The staff were really lovely and not at all over bearing.
Having eaten in quite a few Michelin star restaurants I don't understand why the greenhouse doesn't have one yet- it was by far the best meal I have ever had.
It is expensive but definitely worth it for a special occasion!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    32
    15
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food is great but staff a bit stuffy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had lunch from set menu .25 euro for two course or 30 euro for three course. Selected the main course and desert since the weather had given me two bad days in Dublin and i had a slight cold and this not the place you get chicken soup. The cod was perfectly cooked and the presentation was sublime. The passion fruit soufflé was rich, light and tasty. The best soufflé I ever had . The best meal I had in Dublin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"Wowed"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Absolutely wowed by our meal in the Greenhouse. The level of attention & service was amazing and each course was a taste sensation. The flavour from each element on the dish seemed heightened or enhanced by the other elements on the plate. We had the 5 course menu and from the arrival of the bread we knew we were in for a great experience and every course delivered. So much so that I came home and wrote down everything I could remember so I can relive the meal again and again. With the level of work & attention to detail on dislay I can't understand this is not a Michelin star restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Myself and 3 colleagues had the surprise 5 course lunch taster menu here on 7th June. Having read the largely gushing reviews on this site, we had raised expectations. The food was interesting, creative and delightfully presented but somehow the overall experience was lacking. The service was competent and generally professional if a tad overbearing at times and it was a considerable challenge to understand many of the annunciations of the heavily accented waiting staff. One particular indigenous male waiter was absurdly prissy in approach and manner.

Matching wines were excellently paired and served by a very competent female sommelier.

There was a distinct absence of any 'wow' factor within our group of 4 seasoned foodies.

Charging for coffee having relieved us of €100 each for lunch is just plain mean.

Won't be rushing back in a hurry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Went for the surprise taster menu with wines and was very disappointed. The waiter service was snooty (although a word for the sommelier who was lovely!) - I mean come on lads, you're waiters FFS!!!!! We were paying 100 euro per head and you don't expect the staff to be snotty with you. The food was okay but frankly pretentious at times - which is a shame as when it was good it was very good. But as in all things, you go for the experience and the experience was under par. What was quite silly was the 'explanation' of each course left us none the wiser! We had all previously eaten at Michelin starred restaurants so had an expectation - which wasn't met. To add insult to injury we were charged for sparkling water we hadn't had. Tsk!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greenhouse also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.