We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be an Excellent Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Spire Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Spire Hostel to your Saves list
The Spire Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   92 Marlborough Street, Dublin D1, Ireland (Formerly Sky Backpackers - The Spire)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Could be an Excellent Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This a really central hostel and it's clean with good washing facilities. In theory, it's all you could really want from a hostel in the heart of Dublin City. I was kept awake some of the time from the noise outside, but not many people stay in a hostel for the peace and quiet and it wasn't too bad! My friend and I stayed in an eight-bed dorm, but found that the only bunkbeds that were left didn't have ladders, so getting into bed was a bit of a challenge. Getting down was even more tricky! Apart from that, it was pretty good and the staff were friendly. Would I stay there again? Yep, you could probably talk me into it...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorcanoc, Owner at The Spire Hostel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hi , thanks for the review.Glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the missing ladder. , i wasn't aware of that , so thanks for letting me know. Any missing ladders are being replaced this week. we've also just installed lockers in reception for keeping valuables in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
3
10
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Spire Hostel is located just off of O'Connell street, which is the main street running through Dublin's city center. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, and linens are provided if needed. There is also free wifi, and free breakfast included with the price. They have a kitchen available if you want to cook your own food. It is located on a side street and a lot of buses and trucks stop outside, so it can be quite noisy especially early in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maraval, Saint George, Trinidad and Tobago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My sister and I spent a night at the hostel and we were very impressed. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless. A free continental breakfast is provided. There is also free wifi. The kitchen was well equipped and the location cannot be beat. Unfortunately there was some construction taking place at the time but I am sure that when it is over the place will be even more special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorcanoc, Owner at The Spire Hostel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thanks for the review. Hope all the construction work will be finished this week. We're also fixing problems as they arise or are pointed out to us. hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Spire Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spire Hostel

Address: 92 Marlborough Street, Dublin D1, Ireland (Formerly Sky Backpackers - The Spire)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Spire Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spire Hostel is the newest and most central Hostel in Dublin, a perfect choice for young people, backpackers, week-enders and student to stay in Dublin. The hostel is also a perfect choice for groups well accommodated in large rooms En suite. Our staff team speak various languages and are both friendly and helpful to welcome you. We work to give you a funny, relaxing and great time that will be unforgettable!!!The Hostel has 4 floors in the building- total 11 rooms & 124 beds all dorms.Guests can relax in our living room complete with comfy sofa, cable TV and free Wi-Fi in throughout the property, luggage room free of charge, small lockers for rent and vending machines and our. We also have communal modern kitchen with all appliances where guests can make themselves hearty meals or quick snack. So come and feel in your house!!!Please note:Check-in from 2pm.Check-out by 11am.Cancellation policy is 1 days in advance.We accept payment by cash, debit & credit cards.Valid identification is a requirement.Breakfast included.Taxes included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Spire Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spire Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.