We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay in Dublin.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almara Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Almara Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Almara Bed & Breakfast
226 Collins Avenue West | Whitehall, Dublin 9, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 160 Dublin B&B and Inns
Nashville, TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay in Dublin.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

My husband and I really enjoyed staying at Almara...the location is perfect, the food was great, the room was very nice and clean. Alan was a great host...provided us with lots of information and was the perfect combination of attentive and helpful.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    8
    7
    9
See reviews for
13
15
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Very business-like, rather than warm and hospitable. Only had contact with Alan; never saw Maria. Easy to get into the city center.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

Stayed here for a weekend away to see a concert in Dublin.
Emailed a few times to Alan & Maria witha few queries and they always responded quickly and where very helpful.
We arrived late on the Friday night from airport and was greeted by Maria and given a walm welcome.
Room was pleasant and quiet, with a lounge on the ground floor with tea making facilities. If we where staying for longer periods, a TV in the room would be nice (but then who wants to watch TV and waste time when there's the 'blackstuff' in the friendly local pubs to drink).
Breakfast in the morning was served up by Alan who also gave us a large amount of local information, which was very useful and enhanced our stay in Dublin, with some top tips on seeing some shows or places to visit.
Location is great, as there is a bus stop right outside with regular busses into town and it's far enough out the centre to be quiet and also good location for Kittie Kiernan's pub down the road, a large and friendly pub that Maria recommended.
We also ventured out of Dublin to a local fishing village on the coast (recommended by Alan) which was lovely and well worth the trip.
Overall, Alan & Maria go out of their way to make sure your stay is as pleasant as possible and we are looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

I stayed here recently and was quite disappointed with the Almara B&B. Firstly all the times they give on their site for how close the Almara is (which is the reason I chose this place) to the city centre, airport etc is very exaggerated. It's not 8 mins to town, it's an easy 20 minutes by bus. There are no buses on Sunday morning. Their site says there are plenty of restaurants and pubs/shops close by. There is one restaurant, one pub and a few shops about 15 mins walk away.

The breakfasts were poor, the worst I had in Ireland. Alan seems bored out of his mind obviously from saying the same thing over and over again day in, day out.. There are no amenities, you can't use the phone, he said someone had just dropped it, but I've read from other reviews here that they also couldn't use the phone for other reasons..

It's not a really bad place, but a bit run down, and not worth the money, we found far better value for money staying in the city centre. The Jury's inn is a great hotel for around the same price as the B&B and you get much more value for money.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

My husband, 2 children (12 & 14) and I stayed at Almara for 2 nights. While we were initially a little disappointed at the distance from the city we quickly realised there was a bus at the door and the trip was only 15 minutes. The hosts Alan & Maria were friendly and provided us with all the information we could ask for. Their home is lovely and you can tell they are proud of it. The room was a little cramped for 4 almost adult people but the beds were comfortable and we were not in Dublin to sit in our room. The breakfast was great with my husband enjoying both the black and white sausage, and having tea and coffee available for guests of an evening is a nice touch. I would recommend Almara to anyone looking to stay in Dublin. When we save the money for another trip we will definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork IRL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

It is with sadness I write this review! For the past two years I have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort of Almara as I studied part time in the local Dublin City University.

From faciliating an early breakfast to a clean pleasant room, to enjoyable conversations and wonderful knowledge, it was a real pleasure to have stayed three nights every month for the last two years.

Reasonable room rates, long term deals, car parking, TV lounge with unlimited tea & coffee ... all these small things meant a lot to me in my stay.

Close to college, Croke park (home of the GAA), Point Depot (Concert venue, 10 mins from Dublin Airport and a short bus ride to City Centre all made this an ideal base!

Alan & Maria thank you for home from home!

DC Cork (May 2008)

  • Liked — Friendliness & feeling of being welcome - not just a statistic
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

Alan was very friendly and warm from the first moment we stepped inside the B & B. He was extremely informative and accommodating...even going so far as to help find a dentist when we had a dental emergency. Our room was cozy and perfectly suitable for our brief one-night stay, and we even were upgraded at no extra charge. Having very little time to explore Dublin, Alan provided us with information and guidance and helped us make the most of our brief stay. I would recommend the Almara B & B Dublin to anyone, primarily because the proprietor is so gracious and helpful.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Almara Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almara Bed & Breakfast

Address: 226 Collins Avenue West | Whitehall, Dublin 9, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located halfway between Dublin Airport and Dublin City Centre (8 minutes from both) Almara is an award winning Irish Tourist Board and Dublin Tourism approved and recommended 4 star B&B whose hosts are qualified 5 star Hotel Managers and Dublin Tour Operators over 20 years helping worldwide visitors plan their Dublin and Ireland trip. Almara was extended and refurbished to a high standard recently to accommodate 40 guests in comfort and style. Almara B&B Dublin was established in 1991 making it the oldest 365 B&B in Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Budget Places, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Almara Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almara Hotel Dublin
Almara Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almara Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.