We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finger linkin' great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crackbird

Crackbird
60 Dame Street, Dublin, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #693 of 1,883 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Fast Food
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Finger linkin' great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

While visiting a friend in Dublin she took us here for dinner. I was keen at first because I'm not a Nando's fan and expected something along the same lines. However, I could have been more wrong.

Great food (big portions, great service and lovely buss about the place.

Good value too so I'd definitely recommend Crackbird to anyone

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    108
    43
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cracking good bird!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I've been here twice on week nights, nice and buzzy both times. The menu is chicken and chicken, but it mighty fine. The staff are super helpful young and friendly, they talk through the menu in detail if asked. They can recommend really spicy to not so spicy options. The wine is fine, nothing too fancy. The price is reasonable and we leave full.
The seats are generally shared, unless you fill the table as a group, however they do not seat so close that you hear each others conversations. Its dimly light, not a cosy restaurant but it is comfortable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Lots of Chicken....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Guess what...it’s chicken. Fried chicken / burnt chicken, whole chicken, pieces of chicken. Chicken on a skewer with burnt onions and bay leaves. The hand-rolled croquettes were tasty. Good sauces i.e.; Habanero or burnt lemon & whipped feta. Tables shared with strangers. Very varied patrons, with a hipster majority. Loud house music. Tasty house wine. Service was just ok with no palpable signs of proper training - not really worth tipping on our visit. Taken as a whole the experience was alright.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

A must for those craving a relaxed atmosphere and amazing food. Very slightly off the beaten path for tourists so make sure you look up this restaurant.

Great atmopshere, laid back service (in a positive way) and a tasty choice of fried chicken and sides. We ordered a whole lot and were struggling to finish given the large portion sizes - go hungry so you can make your way to the bottom of the bucket, I was gutted I had to leave some chicken!

Music was playing continuously and we were sat right next to the speaker so my only gripe was that I couldn't hear a thing my friends were saying - but thats more my personal preference, some may enjoy that!

Fully reccommended iif you enjoy fried chicken done well and tasty sides in a relaxed atmosphere - beware though, it seemed fairly busy throughout the evening so make sure you get there early.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Brilliant food! Had a half chicken, crockets, potato noodles and rhubarb lemonade. Lemonade was served in jars - very cool. The place has a nice vibe about it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crackbird also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Crackbird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crackbird, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.