We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Seafood Chowder in Dublin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arthurs Pub

Arthurs Pub
28 Thomas Street | Dublin 8, Dublin 01, Ireland
+353 1 402 0914
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #413 of 1,890 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Irish, International
Description: Arthurs is the nearest pub to The Guinness Storehouse. An ideal spot for tourists to grab a drink and a bit of food and sit by our open fireplaceWe offer free Wi-FiWe play an eclectic mix of Irish Music, all day, and have live music sessions every weekend with gigs nights coming very soon.We do not have a television, because it could interfere with the relaxed ambiance, the banter and the conversation.Upstairs at Arthurs, we have a room available for private parties, functions, and also as a separate music venue.
Restaurant details
Description: Arthurs is the nearest pub to The Guinness Storehouse. An ideal spot for tourists to grab a drink and a bit of food and sit by our open fireplaceWe offer free Wi-FiWe play an eclectic mix of Irish Music, all day, and have live music sessions every weekend with gigs nights coming very soon.We do not have a television, because it could interfere with the relaxed ambiance, the banter and the conversation.Upstairs at Arthurs, we have a room available for private parties, functions, and also as a separate music venue.
Sandy Creek Qld
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Chowder in Dublin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Good food and god selection of beer and ales. No TV in downstairs bar an advantage as it is not noisy. Staff are really good and provide great service. Locals have told us that Arthur's serves the best fish & chips in Dublin. If this is not true the they are up there with the best

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    36
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth a trip to Dublin's west-side to check out their Seafood Chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Look, I'm not normally one to post reviews on "pub-grub" because frankly, most of the time Irish (or English) pub-grub is not very notable. However, Arthur's in west Dublin (about two blocks and an easy-5-minute walk from the world-famous Guinness Storehouse Brewery), is an exception. While most of the fare is "serviceable" one item that stands out is the Seafood Chowder (only $6 EU!), with a robust (but not heavy) broth, and generous helpings of delicious and hearty chunks of salmon, shellfish and calamari, each retaining its own unique flavor. So often, pub-grub Seafood Chowder is weighted down with a heavy cream that homogenizes the flavors into a fishy slop... but truly, Arthur's has got it right with their incredible recipe, well worth checking out. This is also a popular hangout for young locals, especially those in the internet and media fields, due to its close proximity to major player offices. Check it out, and if you're visiting the Guinness Storehouse, Arthur's is a great way to cap the afternoon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Irish Pub Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We were greated and seated promptly in this comfy Irish pub. We were immediately told the daily special and when I asked what the soup of the day was our server offered me a sample. Our food was out within 10 min of order and was very fresh. Highly recommend this pub.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch on way to Guinness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Read reviews and decided to have lunch here before visiting Guinness Storehouse. Service friendly and helpful. Food very good pub food. Had small beef & Guinness stew. Very large serving and glad didn't order large portion.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
“Great selection of beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have walked by this place on my way home so many times. I always wondered what it was like so I popped in the other day. It was 4.30 in the afternoon and fairly quiet. I had the paper and fancied a quiet pint. They have a great selection of tap beers and also a great range of craft bottle beers. Funnily enough I ordered a long of Guinness- well it is called Arthur's- and it was delicious. I liked the pint so much, I stated and had a second one.
There seemed to be a good mix of tourists and locals eating here. They have a decent food menu although I didn't eat this time around.
The staff were friendly and I liked the vibe of the place. I will go back again and try some if the unusual tap beers- metal man looks good! A handy stop off point if you are a tourist heading to the Guinness factory or Royal hospital. Handy if you're a near local like me too

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arthurs Pub also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Arthurs Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthurs Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.