We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection of beers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arthurs Pub

Arthurs Pub
28 Thomas Street | Dublin 8, Dublin 01, Ireland
+353 1 402 0914
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #414 of 1,892 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Irish, International
Description: Arthurs is the nearest pub to The Guinness Storehouse. An ideal spot for tourists to grab a drink and a bit of food and sit by our open fireplaceWe offer free Wi-FiWe play an eclectic mix of Irish Music, all day, and have live music sessions every weekend with gigs nights coming very soon.We do not have a television, because it could interfere with the relaxed ambiance, the banter and the conversation.Upstairs at Arthurs, we have a room available for private parties, functions, and also as a separate music venue.
Restaurant details
Description: Arthurs is the nearest pub to The Guinness Storehouse. An ideal spot for tourists to grab a drink and a bit of food and sit by our open fireplaceWe offer free Wi-FiWe play an eclectic mix of Irish Music, all day, and have live music sessions every weekend with gigs nights coming very soon.We do not have a television, because it could interfere with the relaxed ambiance, the banter and the conversation.Upstairs at Arthurs, we have a room available for private parties, functions, and also as a separate music venue.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
“Great selection of beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have walked by this place on my way home so many times. I always wondered what it was like so I popped in the other day. It was 4.30 in the afternoon and fairly quiet. I had the paper and fancied a quiet pint. They have a great selection of tap beers and also a great range of craft bottle beers. Funnily enough I ordered a long of Guinness- well it is called Arthur's- and it was delicious. I liked the pint so much, I stated and had a second one.
There seemed to be a good mix of tourists and locals eating here. They have a decent food menu although I didn't eat this time around.
The staff were friendly and I liked the vibe of the place. I will go back again and try some if the unusual tap beers- metal man looks good! A handy stop off point if you are a tourist heading to the Guinness factory or Royal hospital. Handy if you're a near local like me too

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    36
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Went to Arthur's Pub for dinner this evening. We were seated quickly and our food order came out very fast! I had the chicken ciabatta sandwich and it was delicious! The chicken was so tasty and the bbq sauce and mayo were great! Came with a side salad and crisps (they were sour cream and onion flavored...bonus!!). My boyfriend had the brie salad and it was great as well. Pickled beets absolutely made it delicious! At 7:45pm, two men in costume came to announce the show that was playing upstairs, The Robert Emmet Experience. We decided not to go to it, but will in the future. Overall, a great dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Visited with a friend for a quick dinner before moving on elsewhere. Very friendly service, and the food arrived quickly and was simply delicious. I have to say the fish chowder was one of the best I have had in a long time. Lots of delicious fish! My friends meal was also very good. The price was very good as well, not overly priced for what we had. Would definitely come back here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Traditional Irish pub, excellent Guinness and fine craic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just down the road from the excess of the Guinness Storehouse, this pub is an updated version of the friendly hospitable Irish inn with excellent creamy Guinness and a fine selection of Irish whiskey.

Fantastic pub food, a good atmosphere but the staff were the epitome of Irish hospitality. As we put the world to rights in a wide-ranging chat from politics to Joyce and everything in between, this one of the best misspent couple of hours of my life.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good local spot for a taste of Dublin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful pub very close to the Guinness Storehouse. Quick service and very good food. Tried the house special risotto and it was as good as any risotto I've had elsewhere. Plenty of traditional pub dishes on the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arthurs Pub also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Arthurs Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthurs Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.