We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a city trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jacob's Inn Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jacob's Inn Hostel to your Saves list
Jacob's Inn Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   21 - 28 Talbot Place, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off Midweek Beds
Ranked #12 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good for a city trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends in a quad room. We enjoyed our stay and found the bunk beds to be quite comfortable. We liked the security of requiring a room key to gain access to the area where the bedrooms were. The staff were friendly and helpful in explaining how to get to the airport. Temple Bar was about a 15 minute walk. Only small issue we had with our stay was that there was no place to sit at breakfast 2 of the mornings we were there so we had to stand and eat, but since the breakfast was included in our room rate we weren't terribly bothered. Everything else was fine.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the building, right beneath the entrance where everyone smoked in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Jacob's Inn Hostel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thanks for your positive review. Sorry if breakfast was crowded it was busy during your stay and guests sometimes tend to come down together. However you are also welcome to take breakfast to the self catering kitchen where there is more table space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    247
    88
    26
    19
See reviews for
29
76
114
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Great location, awesome hostel! Really helpful when getting to town from the airport and good recommendations of things to do. No wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby. Great energy and fun environment!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Jacob's Inn Hostel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Many thanks for your 5 stars .We appreciate it and so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We went with 5 friends for just one night in Dublin. Location is ideal, near the busstation. Friendly and cheerful staff, free breakfast, clean, free wifi and they offer for a good price for the rooms. They offer a free walking tour, which is nice but was too long. For me too much talking (interesting though) but it felt like more talking than walking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhBro, Owner at Jacob's Inn Hostel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

To the staff member you arranged a spare bed for me at 6:30am on Tuesday, 10 December, you utter gem! All the staff are fab. There were quite a lot of young people in the hostel, who were a little rowdy, and there were no reading lamps in the rooms. But, other than that, my stay was flawless!
Ideal location for visitors to Dublin arriving by coach!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhBro, Owner at Jacob's Inn Hostel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thanks for your review. We do have great staff and love them all. Do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

very clean, near the city center shopping centre and temple bar (10 minutes) .. basic breakfast, very friendly staff, wifi in the living room but not in the rooms. We had a private room for 3 adults with bathroom. Not expensive- i recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Jacob's Inn Hostel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks a million and so glad you enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

A church group of 12 men went to Dublin Ireland to build a room for a church there. The group stayed at Jacob's Inn Hostel. It was my first experience at a Hostel. The Hostel was very crowded, the lobby always had a 10 or more people. We had one large room with 6 bunk beds, each used a "sleeping Bag". One bathroom to share. No appliance or TV in the room. All this typical of a Hostel. The toilet in the Hall was out of order for several days, as was some of the vending machines. The wireless required you to log into Facebook. The lobby had two PC's that were always occupied. Breakfast was orange juice and cornflakes, coffee and tea available, oh and toast. The desk would not convert $100 bills to local money. The Hotel was a little worn. However, the rate was good, as it cost us about $17 a man per night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Jacob's Inn Hostel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thanks for your feedback and so glad you found us good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Used to hotels so this was all a bit of an adventure. Pleasantly surprised though. Everything was nice and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Great value though and would come back again rather than pay hotel rates. Little noisy during the night, but it is a hostel after all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhBro, Owner at Jacob's Inn Hostel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your experience. We hope we have converted you to Hostel living!! Do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jacob's Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob's Inn Hostel

Address: 21 - 28 Talbot Place, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacob's Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacobs Inn is Dublin's only purpose built backpacker's hostel with all of the modern conveniences of a hotel. Situated in the city centre beside the central bus station and by the tram and rail lines Jacobs Inn is the most accessible hostel in Dublin. All rooms are large and spacious and ALL have en suite bathroom facilities. Temple Bar is a ten minute walk away and O'Connell Street, The O2, Croke Park and The Aviva are all within five minutes of the hostel. Facilities include FREE breakfast, FREE WiFi, , Pub Crawls, FREE Bed Linen, FREE Events and Entertainment,FREE walking tour of Dublin, Laundry, Storage Facilities, Comfy TV Lounge, 24 Hour Key Card Access to Rooms, Modern Self Catering Kitchen, Movie Nights ,BBQS and Much More! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Jacob's Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacob`s Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacob's Inn Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.