We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They upheld all I had heard about Irish hospitality...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abberley House B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Abberley House B&B to your Saves list
Abberley House B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   19 Upper Saint Columbas Rd, Dublin 9, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
special offer
Ranked #31 of 163 Dublin B&B and Inns
Geraldton, West Ausralia
1 review
“They upheld all I had heard about Irish hospitality...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Margaret and John made us to welcome and took us into their family, helping us in every way they could. Margaret was so kind and did more for us than I would have expected from B & B accomadation.
Staying with them makes fond memories of my stay in Dublin.
Our room was lovely with a beautiful bathroom. My little girl & I were very comfortable. The breakfast was a filling start to each day - delicious!
The area was conveniant to Dublin city, a pleasant stroll to a bus stop for a ride directly to O'Connell Street.
I would recommend Abberley House for a comfortable place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    18
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
38
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Highly recommended. Great service. Comfortable room. Great location, near good pubs and restaurants, bus transit, Dart, AirCoach, Croke Stadium, Botanical Gardens, and City Center. Bring your own wash cloth though.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

I totally enjoyed my stay at Abberly House, it was 25 min from the airport direct access by bus #16a,41 and 33 stopped at opposite Quinns Pub. The B&B is on the first left (big) road (and then the 4 left road) after you walked pass Quinns Pub on your right which is about 5 min walk. walking to O'Connels road is around 10-15 min depends on your speed or bus at 1.05 euro for one way. I love the English breakfast the landlady specially made for us and on top of that proper dining area with plenty of tea, coffee, toast, milk and fruit juices. We are very happy with what we get as it is an inexpensive and good B&B. The room we had was a bit small for 3 people , however enough to move and a very clean toilet and nice shower. The bed is very comfortable and the blanket materials are all soft I love it. Would surely stay there again in my next visit.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Abberley house is great for a short visit to Dublin. Easy to get from the airport and very easy to get to the city centre from the house. 5 min walk to the bus station where you can catch several buses to O'Connell or to the Temple Bar. The bus ride will not take more than 10 minutes. The neighbourhood is very quiet and seems safe and there are some pubs where you can have a meal. The house is not luxury, but has everything needed . Our room was not very big, but you can walk around, it has a private bathroom and coffee and tea in the room. The breakfast is good, especially the Irish one and John and Margaret are just great. They are very sympathetic and are always available to help you with tips and indications about how to get to everywhere. In our last night we needed a taxi to get to the airport at 5 am and Margaret arranged it perfectly and at the time we wanted we had a taxi in the front of the house.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

Abberley house is just a short bus ride/walk (1 mile) from Dublin center, off the main Drumcondra road. We stayed there this April for three nights. We had a tidy, compact rooom w/double bed, coffee/tea , ensuite, lots of hot water.

Breakfast was an assortment of breads, including Bram Brack, fruits, coffee.tea, cereals, or Irish Breakfast.

Margaret Mc Gauran is very hospitable, and has an assortment of information for visitors.
Delightful.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, friendliness, cost
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2004

We had planned a weekend staying in Dublin, sightseeing and shopping, and were looking for somewhere value for money and near the city centre.
Abberyley House is perfect.
A family run B&B, situated about 10 minutes bus ride from the centre of town. Breakfasts were good - hosts very friendly and accomodating.
We couldn't thank them enough

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abberley House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abberley House B&B

Address: 19 Upper Saint Columbas Rd, Dublin 9, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abberley House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abberley House is located in a Quiet Residential area only one mile from City Centre(5 mins by bus or 20min walk), 6 miles from Airport(30mins bus), 10 Mins walk to Botanic Gardens& Croke park museum & ethihad skyline tour & Glasnevin museum. Dublin sightseeing hop of hop off bus tickets available for sale. All rooms are tastefully decorated to a high standard with Ensuites & Wifi in all rooms. A Warm welcome awaits you! BOOK DIRECTLY WITH ABBERLEYHOUSE AND RECEIVE SPECIAL DISCOUNT ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your Abberley House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abberley House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.