We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars for food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isabel's - CLOSED

Isabel's
112 Lower Baggot Street, Dublin, Ireland
353 1 6619000
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Utilizing the very best of seasonal and foraged local produce, we aim to provide a unique dining experience in Dublin. Our extensive selection of wines from around the world caters for every budget.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“4 stars for food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The food was excellent, the wine recommended was delicious and we had a lovely evening. The service was unobtrusive, in fact I would say a little too unobtrusive I think we were only asked when they cleared the plates away, we had to pour our own water and we were not asked if we wanted more too drink - I like a little more from my service from a restaurant of this quality to match the food and price - you want to feel like you have been treated. I loved the decor and the atmosphere was nice but nothing amazing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    31
    6
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

In the 12 years we have been coming to Ireland this has to be the best meal out we have ever had, the quality was excellent every course we had was superb and when put together with the great service and ambience it’s up there with the best, we left very happy and are still talking about our evening at Isabel’s.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We dined at Isabel's last evening and the food was fabulous. The presentation was artistic, the chef is amazing with creative ingredients that blend perfectly. I can honestly say that I savored every bite. The service was impeccable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a lovely meal at Isabel's recently. The food is special, the surroundings atmospheric and intimate and the service was great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“Ooh La La! The hidden gem that is Isabel's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were 2 girls of a certain age, wanting delicious food, a tincture of wonderful wine and a spot to catch up on news over lunch. The location had to be convenient to both our offices so I remembered Isabel's nestled away in a basement location (corner of Fitzwilliam St/Baggot St and 5 mins walk from St. Stephen's Green). Having had a wonderful lunch once before at Isabel's, I hoped it was not a "one hit wonder". We were shown to our lovely quiet corner table by the charming Frederic who responded to our queries on certain of the dishes with great knowledge and that wonderful French accent which makes everything sound divine. Even more fortunately for us, the dishes that arrived before us lived up to Frederic's description 110%! When we asked about a little adornment on one of the mains which looked like vivid green roe, he obligingly headed to the kitchen and came back with a precise description once more. The lunch menu is reasonably short but do not fear .... better a short menu with exquisite food especially if you are short on time! Of course, the Albarino which we chose to accompany our dishes was a perfect lunchtime wine. The quality of the ingredients used, the creativity applied in the kitchen and the charming professionalism in front of house makes this a venue that will see me returning for lunch and dinner time and time again. One small thing to be aware of ... the mobile credit card device was handed over with the bill totalled but without the option to add a gratuity, so do specify in advance if you wish to add the gratuity to your card payment or make sure to have the cash to cover this out. And by the way, lunch certainly will not break the bank so do be sure to visit for yourself!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabel's also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isabel's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.