We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Marvelous Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isabel's

Isabel's
112 Lower Baggot Street, Dublin, Ireland
353 1 6619000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #211 of 1,969 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Utilizing the very best of seasonal and foraged local produce, we aim to provide a unique dining experience in Dublin. Our extensive selection of wines from around the world caters for every budget.
Hartford, CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Marvelous Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We wandered in off Baggot St,, down the stairs to Isabel's, unprepared for the loveliness of this little pace and even less prepared for the creative, delicious food. Our salads were so whimsically assembled, so different from any salad that they temporarily ruined us for any other salad. The slow cooked pork dish, the addictive breads, the unforgettable lemon dessert. I wouldn't have been surprised to find this place in Paris. I would have been delighted by it there. I'm staggered by it here. (It's not cheap. Consider it one of your special dinners. But it probably won't break you.) I want to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    31
    6
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A friend recommended Isabel's and we went as a foursome on a Friday night.

It was the best meal I have eaten in six months.

The wine list is good and the food is exceptional, from the daintily pretty presentation of a goat's cheese mousse with samphire and spring vegetables, through the exciting flavour combinations of scallops with nettle risotto and on to the deep rich flavours of oxtail gnocchi - it showed great confidence and expertise and really was a treat!

The staff were friendly and engaging and we felt very welcome.

I was so impressed, I made another booking (this time a table for eight) before we left the restaurant, and we went en masse again last night.

I was apprehensive as to whether it would live up to my expectations the second time around (and indeed the high expectations I had set with my friends) and once again it delivered.

It is great to see somewhere like Isabel's take off and you should get along there while they are "on a roll".

I suppose the best way to describe the experience is to call it very refined fine-dining-style cooking in a casual dining setting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tasty food, inadequate portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ate here recently for our wedding anniversary. The restaurant is small and the tables are tightly packed together which made us uneasy at first but didn't spoil the experience.My starter, a salad, was served on a slate which slid around the glass-topped table banging into the bits of food that had already fallen off the slate. The presentation of this dish needs a rethink. Both our mains, pork shoulder and scallops were tasty. The pork was really no more than 4 mouthfuls with chips (extra €4) to quell the hunger. Desserts were again, tasty but small. We both left hungry, having spent the best part of €150, which shouldn't be the case. The service was good but unengaging.I can't imagine going back again, unfortunately.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful spot for creative and delicious food with good atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

the menu is small, but Everything is wonderful - food, wine, service- in particular - amazing presentation. It is a cosy and relaxed spot but the food is of a very high standard. A really enjoyable evening was had.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Superb Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Dined on the first day of May and took the owners advice to go with the soft shell crab starter and the ox tail and gnocchi special main - they were both absolutely epic. He also recommended a Gewürztraminer to go with the starter which was superlative and a Malbec with the main that was very nice. Desserts also very good. Faultless - I will be back. Did not pay the bill this time but seemed reasonable although will see that better next. Deserves its high ranking in trip advisor.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabel's also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Isabel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isabel's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.