We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Full Irish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheries Cafe Bar

Sheries Cafe Bar
3 Lower Abbey Street, Dublin, Ireland
018747237
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 1,820 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $16
Cuisines: European, Family Fare, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a part of Dublin since 1947 and have been here for four generations. We strive to make sure that every guest that comes through our door is greeted, served, and thanked for their custom. We use local businesses to supply our menu, and ensure that we have the right produce at the right price, for you, our guest. See you soon!
Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Full Irish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Went here for brunch today. It was €9.95 which included tea or coffee. Over all it was very nice except the black and white pudding- the texture was weird, too soft, under-cooked maybe? I think it would be nice if they offered the option of having beans with your breakfast because I missed them. Good service if a little slow.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    36
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Nice 1970's menu, usual mix of sambos, frys/grills, some classic salads and done old favourite entrees as well mce selection of deserts.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great value in the city centre.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I'm a Dubliner and I remember my grandmother bringing me to Sherie's in the 60s and 70s for tea and cake, sitting up at the old counter. I remember going to Sherie's in the mid 1980s for the 99p breakfast at the same counter, but I hadn't been back in years.

Tonight I was at the theatre and was heading to another restaurant when we passed Sherie's. Partly for old times sake, I convinced my friend to try it and we went in. My friend and I had a delicious meal, but the dessert was something else. It reminded me of some of the delicate pastries you get in Eastern European cafés. I don't know if the pastry chef is Polish, but wherever the chef is from, he/she is very good.

Excellent service, lovely food and good value.
They have a new menu starting soon and I may have to go back and try it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Wandered into Sherries and was immediately welcomed by Adam (manager/owner). Was made feel very welcome and felt my custom was appreciated. Ordered coffees x2 and a delightful sandwich. Food came in reasonable time and was immediate offered water with food. The decor is fantastic, food fantastic, but most importantly the staff are attentive and interesting but unobtrusive! I would highly recommend a visit to Sherries, and I promise you won't be disappointed!! G

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila Philippines
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I must have passed this place dozens of times and not noticed it, but last night we needed a quick pre theatre bite, and there it was! Very little I can add to the other positive posts except to say that whenever you need a relaxed, casual, friendly, value for money place to eat in Dublin, this is it. Certainly, Adam is a perfect example of what a good restaurant manager / host should be and we were particularly impressed with how he approached a 'special' diner during our visit. May your tribe (and profits) increase!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheries Cafe Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sheries Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheries Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.