We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bear

Bear
34/35 South William Street, Dublin, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #944 of 1,797 restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Www.twitter.com/beardublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went to bear afew weeks ago. It was really good. The liver were delish as we're the shrimp cakes. The millionaire potatoes weren't worth it though. The service was great. The only complaint my mom had was the backless seats. She was done with backless seats by the time we left dublin.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

49% Recommend
    35
    40
    42
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Castlebar, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Only ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Have visited this restaurant a few times over the past couple of months and each time it has only been ok. The setting is lovely and the staff are friendly, however the food is slow to come. The food is good when it does arrive but I think it may be a little bit pricey for food portions of that size. On average I would give it a B-/C+

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Style Over Substance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Definitely a case of style over substance. Everything tasted like a foot. I had about three bites of edible meat (dry and tasted of foot) and the rest was bone and fat. Would never in a million years eat here again. The million dollar fries that everyone raves about taste like bad dauphinoise from Aldi on a stick. Staff pleasant although one guy seemed uninterested. Staff also seemed to faff over some regular customers yet not show much interest in others.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Trendy restaurant but the cuts of meat are terrible. Had rump steak which they said was the nearest cut to fillet. This was like eating an old boot. Service was good but you are unable to have a conversation with the DJ blasting out music.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Walk in surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We arrived here early in the evening without a reservation and were we were gently assured that there are quite few tables kept for walk ins and were promptly shown to a table. A little different to what we are used to (high stools) but we were made feel at ease by our waitress who was very pleasant and went through the menu thoroughly. We both opted for the rump steak which our waitress advised us we could have as a shared steak which would shave a few quid off the end bill! All we had to do was agree on a temperature! which we did and it was delicious! We couldn't decide on a wine so our waitress brought us some to taste which was much appreciated. Our sides were very tasty and plenty of them!! No desserts but very pleasant and fun atmosphere, will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.