We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN EMERALD GEM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Belvedere Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Belvedere Hotel to your Saves list
The Belvedere Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great Denmark Street | Off Parnell Square, Dublin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AN EMERALD GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Picked the hotel from the internet. Offered a three day stay special for 120 Euro including breakfast. Stated it was a three star hotel. flew from edinburgh with ryanair. arrived at Dublin and took the airlink coach which was right outside arrivals. paid 20 euro for two return fares. Very quick transfer into the city. Bus stop is only about 400 yards from there. An easy walk.
Reception staff at the hotel fantastic. Could not be more helpful. Gave us maps and directions for all the good stuff in Dublin.
Has booked a twin smoking room and was allocated Room 221. Used the lift and room was about twenty paces from the lift. On going into room found there were FOUR single beds. Also in room usual table and chairs and all the facilities including internet you would expect in a higher graded hotel. Nice spacious bathroom with shower and bath.
Breakfast was unbelievable. Multiple fruit juices, coffee machine with 6 choices , cereals, croissants, rolls, scones and then the hot stuff, Bacon, sausage, black and white pudding, hash browns, scrambled and boiled eggs, beans. Toaster with brown and white bread.
REMEMBER THIS IS ONLY COSTING 40 EUROS A NIGHT.
The bus stop for the hop on hop off Dublin bus tour, which is only 16 euro for two days and can be purchased at reception, is only 200 yards from the hotel.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of the majority of the good shopping Malls like the JERVIS.
I have stayed in hotels all over the world and know that star rating can be very misleading and erratic. The Belvedere is shown as a three star, but it has to be right at the top of this rating. Pure and utter value for money. An absolute pick for ordinary holiday travellers who look for value for money. If you think you are special or demand to be pampered and find fault with hotels because their colour schemes do not suit you preference, then go and waste your money elsewhere.
I WILL RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ALL MY FRIENDS AND ASsOCIATES AND BUSINESS CONTACTS AS A MUST STAY.
TOTAL TOTAL VALUE FOR MONEY
All the staff at the hotel were excellent and could not do enough to make your stay a memorable one

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear appear to be quieter than rooms facing onto Denmark Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathal O, General Manager at The Belvedere Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Benebyers

Thank You for your glowing review. I am delighted that we could be part of what sounds like a great weekend in Dublin. I hope you can get back to Dublin very soon.

Regards
Cathal O'Donoghue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    392
    167
    50
    35
See reviews for
146
358
48
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed at The Belvedere for 1 night and found it to be ideal for business. Free wifi / internet, spacious room and functional. The bar area is pleasant and well run with plenty of staff.
My bedroom had a large comfortable bed, multi station TV, Tea / Coffee and large bathroom. Perfect for work and 1 night. Breakfast next morning was fine, lack of table service and not an original menu but fine.

Room Tip: Left luggage until 4pm the next day is ideal also close to Airport transport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathal O, General Manager at The Belvedere Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Cragcaveman

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that the hotel was so handy for your business trip. I hope we see you again on your next trip.

Cathal O'Donoghue
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We have stayed at the Belvedere before some three years ago & had a great time as Dublin is a SUPERB place to visit with a lively atmosphere and plenty to see and do. This visit was a three night city break and did not disappoint and again we felt very welcome at the Belvedere. The staff were superb, the room was lovely, warm, clean with free TV, free use of room safe and great value for a three star hotel. The Belvedere is close to O' Connell street and within easy walking distance of the many attractions and if you don't like walking too far you can pick up a hop on hop off open top tour bus. There are plenty of tours also available if you want to travel away from the city to experience the more rural Ireland too. Easy to get to from Dublin port or airport.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathal O, General Manager at The Belvedere Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Jules

Thank you very much for your great review. I am delighted that you thought of us when you were coming back to Dublin. Don't leave it three years next time.

Cathal O'Donoghue
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The title pretty much sums it up. Bed Bugs! Stay here at your own peril.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed here in November for the weekend. Got a very good rate on the room, we booked a triple room, I was expecting 2 beds and a sofa, however the room was huge and had 4 single beds in, very spaced out.

The hotel is down the "quiet" end of the city, and about a 15 min walk to Temple bar, but plenty near by anyway.

The room and bathroom were kept clean, the beds were a little old and hard though, but for a weekend it was ok.

Room Tip: The triple rooms are huge and have 4 single beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathal O, General Manager at The Belvedere Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Bukilester

Thanks for your review. I am very pleased that you felt that you got a bargain. I was dissapointed to read that the bed was not up to scratch. If you would not mind letting me know what room you stayed in I will look into it.

Cathal O'Donoghue
General Manager
codonoghue@belvederehotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

we stayed at the Belvedere in Oct and couldn't fault our stay. We requested a twin room and ended up with a HUGE room with 4 single beds! Bathroom very clean. We had prebooked breakfast which gave vey good value with plenty of choice.
Staff couldn't have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them
Hotel also gave us a discount for a nearby car park.
I highly recommend The Belvedere Hotel for anyone visiting Dublin

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathal O, General Manager at The Belvedere Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Wolveslass

Thanks for your very positive review. I am happy that we provided excellent value. I will pass on your kind words to all the staff.
The next time you are in Dublin please bear us in mind.

Cathal O'Donoghue
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I found this hotel as adequate, clean, pleasant staff but pretty basic. Breakfast 8 Euros. Price 50 Euros per night. Last year stayed around the corner at Jury's 119 Euros, breakfast 10 Euros, nice but for single person Belvedere was adequate. Excellent location, clean, at Parnell Square. Quiet at night and safe. Some B&B's Ive found are more expensive than hotels. It appears all hotels charge you for use of the phone even if you use a phone card. This hotel charges 70 cents a minute. Try and find a pay phone, many have been removed particularly in hotels.

Room Tip: No rooms ahve an exciting view. On a corner of two streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathal O, General Manager at The Belvedere Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Oldsalt1

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that you found our hotel to be suitable for your recent visit to Dublin. Please bear us in mind the next time you get to Ireland.

Cathal O'Donoghue
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Belvedere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere Hotel

Address: Great Denmark Street | Off Parnell Square, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Dublin
#72 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belvedere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Belvedere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belvedere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.