We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets better every year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ballsbridge Hotel to your Saves list
Ballsbridge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Kilkenny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gets better every year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

SInce I last stayed new management have taken over hotel there have been noticeable signs of improvement particularly to the decor of the hotel. Staff friendliness still remains one of their strong points from Reservation enquiries (I dealt with Naresh) to Floor Managers, Reception and bar staff. The food has also improved in the past year.

Room Tip: The Towers rooms are the best but I can see the Inn rooms are being upgraded at the moment. Second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallsbridgeGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Patrick L,

Thank you for choosing The Ballsbridge Hotel again and also for your very positive feedback and wonderful comments on your recent stay. I am absolutely delighted to hear it was so enjoyable.
We are refurbishing the last remaining block of our classic rooms at the moment with over 220 completed to date and our new Executive Head Chef has redesigned all of our menus which promises that every guests culinary experience will be a memorable one.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back to The Ballsbridge Hotel when you are next in Dublin.

Kind regards,
Conor O Sullivan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    350
    268
    145
    109
See reviews for
167
296
50
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I was looking at a few reviews regarding this hotel. Alot were complaining about workmen and the noise. I encountered this but i did realise that if the hotel is to improve it needs work to be done. Simple. The only complaint i have was the heat in the room was too hot and i was unable to adjust it. But thats nothing to worry about. Overall i feel i got more than what i paid for.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I recently organised my hockey ball for 200 people in the Ballsbridge Hotel. I was very satisfied with the night. The event team in the hotel were very efficient and were there on their emails or on their phones all day to answer any questions I had. They were extremely nice and easy to deal with. The security on the night were brilliant which meant there was no trouble on the night. The waiting staff were brilliant and were well experienced serving big crowds of students. The food was exactly what you wanted too, with a special shout out to the apple pie which was truly delicious. The bar offer good prices and the bedrooms are very clean too.
I would recommend anyone to organize any event there. Very good location too so can go to town easily afterwards.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at the Ballsbridge Hotel for the Ireland vs Wales rugby international and found it to be an enjoyable and comfortable stay. A special word of praise must go to Gemma on reception who dealt with us promptly and with a smile. The other staff were both friendly and helpful for the duration of our stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying for a game/concert in the Aviva in the future. The only disappointing aspect of our stay was the charging of 10 euro for parking for guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallsbridgeGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Patrick B,

Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your recent stay with us, It is the hotel’s aim to ensure our guests fully enjoy their stay with us no matter how long or short their stay.

I hope you choose to stay at The Ballsbridge Hotel again when in Dublin.

Kind regards,
Conor O Sullivan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My Mum and I stayed at the Ballsbridge as we were in Dublin to attend a family funeral. I emailed to ask if we could book in at 8am instead of 2pm booking in time and our room was ready when we arrived. The rooms are lovely, they are spacious, clean, nicely furnished with very comfortable beds and a lovely bathroom.
My mum is 78 and took ill while we were there. The management were brilliant they phoned late night pharmacies and a lovely lady from Rathgar late night chemist actually came to the hotel with medicine for my mum. Managers Martin and Joe really pulled out all the stops and made me feel so supported as mum was quite ill but did not want to go to hospital.
They brought drinks to the room telephoned regularly to check on her and all the staff were so informed of what was going on.
Our flight was late so we were allowed to stay in our room until we were ready to leave for the airport. We can not thank them enough and will certainly be going back.
The staff at this hotel really go the extra mile and that is worth bearing in mind.
You can catch a bus into town jut across the road from the hotel and I think it is about 3-4 stops the busses are very reliable. If you turn left at the main gates and walk up the road you come to some lovely restaurants and shops. The Airbus from the airport stops right outside the hotel.

The Ballsbridge Hotel is in a really up-market area but the prices are so good and the breakfast is second to none.
Try it for yourself you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Always email ahead if you have a preference, if they can do it they will
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallsbridgeGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear disapointedmerseyide,

Many thanks for your very positive review, Ill be sure to pass on your kind words to Martin & Joe.

I hope to get the chance to personally welcome you back to The Ballsbridge Hotel on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Conor O Sullivan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The Ballsbridge is located rather far from the city center in a city that can be difficult to navigate, especially for non-Europeans. The hotel itself is rather shabby, there was a towel covering a hole in one column in the main hallway. The hotel charges extra for everything, from parking to wifi... And the extra charges are not cheap- 10 euros per day for guest parking! Ridiculous! The rooms were basic bordering on shabby. Our room had holes the the door and walls, my sheets were dirty, my covers had stains. The bathroom was horrible, dirty with long black hairs all over the tub and floor... And I'm a blond. Would I stay here again? Absolutely not. I found many other nicer, closer hotels. There is no need to settle for this.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallsbridgeGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Bonnie P,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay however I was very disappointed to read about the problems you encountered while staying with us. We take pride in delivering a high quality product and I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Let me assure you that your comments have been noted regarding our housekeeping practice and will be used as a training tool for the future.
I do hope that you would consider returning to us when you are next in Dublin so we can provide you with the true quality service that we strive to achieve daily.

Kind regards,
Conor O Sullivan
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel many times and recently was surprised to discover that they did not have my details on their system. Checking in -especially after a busy and tiring day - can often be trying. In my case my business model is such that sometimes it is not possible to book ahead as the work can be quick and easy allowing me to head home or long and difficult (I am a researcher) requiring an over night. It did seem to take quite a while to complete the checking in formalities, longer than I have experienced in other hotels and in fairness in this one also on other occasions. Apart from that whine the remainder of the experience was good to acceptable. Some of the room standards were noteworthy - the bathroom door could not close being the most surprising. As I was on my own this did not matter but on an other occasion ........ perhaps

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballsbridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.