We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ballsbridge Hotel to your Saves list
Ballsbridge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
KILKEE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Booked family room with 5 kids.clearly mention kids age on booking time, and i demand for six beds.first room they give me with two single beds and one medium. After complaining they give my on 7th floor same size of room with an other extra single bed.total two bath towel and two cup and one glass for 7 people.breakfast staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    417
    291
    153
    122
See reviews for
197
353
53
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Recently stayed here again for a couple of nights and booked a tower room with breakfast included. Rooms are quite spacious and have walk in wardrobes and tea/coffee provided. They also seem to be quieter than the main hotel. Breakfast was good with eggs and omlettes to order which arrived piping hot. Staff are very friendly and helpful, there are a few who have trouble with their english but they are well able to understand what you need. Bar was quiet busy for the nights we visited, good atmosphere.Had bar food lunch one day which is to be recommended. Only down side is that you have to pay for parking, about €10 a night. If you are staying a few nights try to negotiate with the reception staff but depends who you get.

Room Tip: High rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stay regularly in Dublin and have found that the Ballsbridge Hotel provides the best combination of comfort and value. The Tower rooms are very spacious and there is a good atmosphere in the Dubliner bar in the evenings. Well situated for those with business or pleasure in that area of the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have stayed here a few times, and depending on the room, its hit and miss. Previously I stayed in the main hotel, and like some of the other reviews state, they are a bit dated, but, I see there there has been some work done in the reception and on the ground floor rooms, and that it changed ownership recently, so, hopefully that renovation will continue up the floors.

This time I got a room in the Towers, and it was a great big room, winged chairs and big screen TV, and a walk in wardrobe (albeit tiny one).

there were a couple of things, but it wont stop me going back!

First, the heating, its worked by the air conditioning, and if you want to heat the room while you are in bed, you really cant sleep as its quite noisy, so a couple of nights I had to pull out the spare blanket as I got quite cold.

Finally, yes, some of the service requires attention. While we were attended to greatly in our rooms (I had asked for extra teabags, and they came straight away!) when we went for dinner, twice my husband asked for a glass of water, and twice the waiter forgot! in the end we didnt ask a third time, as the waiter appeared too busy.

As I said, it wont stop me coming back, its a great location for the rugby and any concerts in the Aviva, so, See you Soon Ballsbridge Hotel!

Room Tip: If you have the option to book one of the towers rooms, they are much better, on the website I booke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear LetitiaS_71

Thanks for your feedback and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our executive wing of the hotel. Yes we are planning a refurbishment on our bedrooms this year to accompany the ground floor refurbishment.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Despire having a wonderful character and really good potential for a great hotel, the Ballsbridge Hotel was quite underwhelming and very average hotel.

My room was in desperate need of refreshment and replacement of ageing facilities. The bathroom was a little grimy and the plumbing was terrible. The electrical sockets did not work and the bed and furniture was very worn.

The location of the hotel is good, just a couple of minutes to the city centre on the DART train, which has a station about a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

The Ballsbridge Hotel was fine for a couple of nights, but I would not have wanted to stay any longer than this. A very average hotel, not terrible but certainly not great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Phil N

The maintenance and fittings should be perfect in every room, my apologies on this - I will report immediately to our maintenance team. Regarding the room being underwhelming, you'll be glad to know we're planning an extensive refurbishment this year.

Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had our Christmas Party here in the Ballsbridge Hotel.
We have a big Christmas night every year and it is always an ordeal to organise for such a large number of people, not this year though!! The events team were amazing... well Morgan was!
From day one they were so helpful, and really did cater to our every need.
The night was a fantastic night. The food was delicious, the staff were so friendly and the band and DJ were brilliant!! all 60 of us had an amazing night!! And those of us who stayed the night were all very impressed with the rooms!
I would highly recommend The Ballsbridge Hotel for any event for any amount of people attending as they are very professional and very welcoming!!
Thanks again to Morgan and all the Staff at The Ballsbridge Hotel !!
Tracy

Room Tip: My room was located in the Towers. It was really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Caffreysun

Thank you so much for your positive comments and we're delighted that you enjoyed your Christmas Party so much.

Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Hi I have stated here a few times. The hotel is in great location and general upkeep is good.
Staff are short in numbers and those that are there come across as not really interested in people.
This shortage is leading to serious errors. We had dinner in the bar - the meat was uncooked in the centre - I mean red raw, and luke warm. Very dangerous. And even though they changed the meal, not once did anybody apologise to us.
This is not acceptable.....

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear thisthatandtheother

Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience. I will discuss this immediately with our Food and Beverage Manager.

Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballsbridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.