We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ballsbridge Hotel to your Saves list
Ballsbridge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Longford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could have been better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed in this hotel a few nights ago for the Red Hot Chilli Peppers concert. On arrival the hotel is very big and grand but you do have to pay 10 euro for parking there for the night, which i thought was a bit extreme! The room itself was really big but had very dated decor! The bed was very comfy, but the tv was dated and didnt have many channels at all!. Also there was no iron or iron board in the room. There was a trouser press but it just about worked and took ages to heat up. All in all it was a nice stay. The hotel even supplied a return bus from outside the hotel to and from the concert at 10euro return. The only problem I had with this hotel was the accommodation calling round to all the rooms from 8 o'clock in the morning on. We couikd hear them knocking on all the rooms on the corrider aswell. Check is not until 12 and I think they should only come around once they see you have checked out of your room from the reception desk. They then came around again at 11! It was very annoying especially when you want a sleep in and not to be pestered at that hour of the morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thanks for this review. I have discussed your issue with our accommodation department.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    350
    267
    143
    107
See reviews for
165
293
50
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed for a week. Bedrooms were clean but dated. To be renovated soon, I understand. Breakfast had great choices and good healthy options. Staff very helpful. Lots of tourists so can be busy. Foyer and bar/lounge in good order. Had dinner there twice. Cosy, great value, very well presented and chef to be complimented on the food. Restaurant staff particularly welcoming. Manager Nashir dealt with - very professional. Only compaint is the additional cost of wi-fi and customer parking. Would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed in this hotel last weekend for the westlife concert everything very good nice big clean room lovely breakfast excellent service in the bar the hotel even ran a bus to the concert from the hotel gate! for 10 euro return. Would def stay here again great value for money 79 euro bed and breakfast the only complaint i had was when we checked in at 4.00pm we had to wait abut 10 mins to get a room as the hotel was fully booked and the male reception staff member we were dealing with was not very polite or forthcoming with information why we had to wait so long for our room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This was the worst stay me and my boyfriend have ever had an we do go away at least once ever few months. To begin we arrived at this at 14:15 pm to check in, in which I telephoned previously an was told checkin was from 2pm. Once we arrived we were told by a male reception that no rooms were ready and to wait in the bar until one was cleaned.. We were in Dublin to go see westlife last concert in croke park in which croke parked opened at 5pm.. We had to wait on our room until 5.20pm 3 hours after we arrived. I asked to speak to the manager and was told no they were too busy to see me, this time a lady behind the checkin desk she didn't even apologise for the delay an had such a bad attitude. We then continued to our room, which as soon as we walked in smelt un washed a dirty. There was 4 different couples with us staying in this hotel and everyone of use were treated this way. I telephoned reception from my room to ask could some ice be taken to my room, and the same lady said we don't do room service and hung up the telephone. I have never in my life been treated as bad. Our room cost us €199 per coulple and you had to pay extra if you wanted breakfast or even €3.50 to use their wifi for 10mins. Please listen to this comment before booking this hotel. It was the worst stay I have ever had. And it totally ruined our weekend we had waited and looked forward to for so long. The way the staff treated us from start to finish was a disgrace. I couldn't wait to leave

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
My sincere apologies that you didn't enjoy your stay. I would like to speak to you directly about your comments and would appreciate it if you could contact me on jclifton@ballsbridgehotel.com

Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Good service with nice breakfast - not too near to town nice piano music at nights - bathroom needing updating and rooms a bit small beds a bit too high and soft

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We have to make a yearly trip to the US embassy in Dublin and have stayed at various hotels in the D4 area. For what we paid and compared to other places we have stayed, this hotel was a rare find. Staff was rather rude and they will charge you for everything (parking, internet, etc.) but it is just steps away from the embassy, the pub in the hotel was decent, and the breakfast included in the rate was surprisingly good. We were in the newer part of the hotel and our room was sort of updated. There was no AC but our room overlooked the courtyard and we were able to sleep with the window open with minimal disturbance.
We will stay here again for another embassy trip because of the price and location.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the newer part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We booked this hotel as we were attending a concert so stayed 3 nights. On arrival the receptionist was talking on the phone an to another member of staff whilst booking us in. She did not make you feel welcome. We had to ask where breakfast was served and what time. On arrival to the room we noticed the carpet by window soaking and also windowsill with alot of mould surrounding the frames. We requested extra pillows and only recieved them 3.5 hours later. The shower head and tap were loose. Breakfast was just ok nothing special. Regarding the parking we had to ask 3 members of staff before we got the right answer. We told the receptionist on arrival that we would like breakfast each morning yet when we did go to breakfast they had no record of this. Will never stay in this hotel again and it certainly does not seem like a four star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. I'm disappointed you didn't enjoy your stay with us and I would appreciate it if you would contact me directly to discuss at jclifton@ballsbridgehotel.com

Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballsbridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.