We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back at La Plancha” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Plancha

Le Plancha
22 Newtown Park, Dublin Co. Dublin, Ireland
01 2103950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 1,891 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Le Plancha is a modern Irish restaurant with a style of cuisine using influences from the Iberian Peninsula & France.At Le Plancha, our customers will be offered a menu that reflects seasonality and freshness. We are working with Artisan food suppliers in order to offer our customers the best ingredients and local produce at prices that are affordable.We make everything in house from our delicious home made breads baked daily, to our sauces and relishes & even our crackers for cheese.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Back at La Plancha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Having last visited La Plancha in January decided to return again on 18th May to check it out once more.
What can one say: hasn't changed thank god, food par excellence and service still friendly and efficient.
Will keep coming back as long as it stays the same.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“blackrock gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

this week we arranged to meet up with friends & to eat in le plancha which is a cosy restaurant off newtownpark ave & carysfort ave in blackrock. from the moment you arrive here there is a very nice warm welcome & the staff are very pleasant & eager to please. the menu has a lovely selection & there is a blackboard with daily specials. i had the calamari for starters & john dory for mains. both of which were delicious. then finished meal off with a beautiful mixed berry crumble.... which was yum. all others in the party really enjoyed their food. there is seating for about 30 or so downstairs but there is also a room upstairs for about 20 people. this restaurant is bistro styled and well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I hadn't heard of Le Plancha when my daughter said she would meet me there on a Tuesday evening. I arrived first at 6 intime for the Early Bird Menu and was the only person there, came back a little later and when we sat down we were still the only people in the restaurant. The very helpful waitress assured us that we wouldn't be alone for long, and she was right within 30 minutes the place had filled up, and I can understand why. The food and wine was delicious and excellent value, very tasty as could be seen from the empty plates going back. I noticed that a lot of the people eatting there that evening were known to the staff so obviously were regulars which is always a good sign. I highly recommend Le Plancha.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Called with my daughter on Sunday last (Mothers Day),without appointment,asked by a very pleasant girl if we could come back in 15 mins as the restaurant was full,and they would sort out a table for two.
This we did and were we glad.
This is the third time i have eaten in this restaurant and it gets better and better.
The warm and pleasant welcome to start and then down to the food.
The menu was a special for Mother's day at approx €23 per head plus extras.
Beautifully presented, cooked to perfection. French Onion Soup for Starters followed by Confit of Duck and Roast Rib of Beef for myself.Faultless.
The Restaurant is small and comfy,holding approx 30-40 people on two levels,but what a Gem for Blackrock.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant; nice starters very nicely presented. Pity about the mistakes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

This was our third or fourth time here as a family. They do great tapas on a Wednesday night. This time was a Saturday night. Starters of prawn and crab salad and blue cheese salad were excellent and beautifully presented. Kids dIdnt like their French onion soup but that wasn't the restaurants fault!! One main course of prawn pil pil just seemed like it had too much oil in it. One main course of steak was ordered very well done but came out pink and had to be sent back twice before it was very well done. Result was one of the four of us sitting idle while the others ate their main course and one person just ate the prawns frim the prawn pil pil. Main course of seared scallops was very good but had some form of black pudding like substance with it which wasn't necessary and wasn't very nice. Deserts or apple and blackberry crumble were very good but they got the crumble order wrong and again it broke up the experience. Restaurant was full and atmosphere and welcome were good. Some people got bread when they sat down first but we didn't!! Will probably give it one more chance sometime soon. Shame about the main courses since at €24+ each its not that they were bargain!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Plancha also viewed

 
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Le Plancha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Plancha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.